Research and Course Guides: Physics for the Liberal Arts : Background Info

Why background info?

You are assigned a research topic that you know almost nothing about, and Wikipedia isn't helping. What do you do? Find a subject encyclopedia!

Background sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.) provide summary and factual information. They generally contain well-established knowledge that provide a basic understanding on subjects. Use background sources to:

find basic concepts and viewpoints of the topic
get the historical context and relationships to other topics
identify and define specialized terms used to discuss the topic
find or verify data, facts, formulas, etc.

Online Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

McGraw-Hill Concise Encyclopedia of Science & Technology
Dictionary of Physics
Covers all commonly encountered physics terms and concepts, as well as terms from the related fields of astronomy, astrophysics, and physical chemistry.
Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
Handbook covering chemistry, physics, and related subjects organized in easy-to-find, well-organized tables. Topics include chemical and physical data critical for fields such as environmental science, bio-medical chemistry, organic and inorganic chemistry, materials innovation, geo- and astrophysics, and solid-state science. Limited to 10 simultaneous users.

Philips Astronomy Encyclopedia (Oxford Reference)
Includes 3000 entries authenticated by a team of respected academics.
Dictionary of Astronomy
Covers everything from space exploration and the equipment involved, to astrophysics, cosmology, and the concept of time.
Oxford Companion to Cosmology
Subjects covered include the structure of the universe, the evolution of galaxies, galaxy clusters, and cold dark matter.
Dictionary of Space Exploration
This dictionary covers the fascinating world of space exploration and every aspect of the technology involved.
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
Offers a wealth of comprehensive and well-structured information on all facets of industrial chemistry.