Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A Variety of Country Information Resources
News & Articles
Use these databases to find news stories and relevant content for your research topic.
Access World News
This database contains electronic editions of thousands of local, national and international newspapers, along with broadcast transcripts and college and university news. It also includes the St. Paul Pioneer Press and the Star Tribune.
ProQuest US Newsstream, including Star Tribune
US Newsstream enables users to search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, along with national and regional news sources including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Star Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, and Chicago Tribune.
Westlaw Campus Research
Use the NEWS Content!!
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier provides access to scholarly as well as popular magazines, trade publications, etc., many in full-text.
Online encyclopedia and other reference resources -- full text.
Full-text encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Provides access to hundreds of online reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations from a variety of publishers. Covers both general reference and subject-specific reference titles for a variety of disciplines. Topic Pages give great background overviews on subjects.
Country Information Resources
CIA World Factbook
Produced by the CIA, each country's profile includes such information as demographics, political, economic, and geographic data.
globalEDGE Country Insights
Information on countries from Michigan State University's International Business Center and the Eli Broad College of Business.
BBC News Country Profiles
Includes an overview of recent history and the current political situation of each country, basic facts, and a media overview. Good for current information.
Library of Congress Country Profiles
Brief, summary information on a country's historical background, geography, society, economy, transportation and telecommunications, government and politics, and national security.
Political Handbook of the World Online Edition
Political science and journalism researchers will find this resource useful for comprehensive country profiles, chronicles of national history, government, and political parties, as well as information on intergovernmental organizations, development banks, and the agencies and specialized bodies of the United Nations.
Political Risk Yearbook
Provides 45-65 page overviews of the history, economy, politics, and risk forecasts for 100 countries. It provides 10 years of economic data, with description and analysis of the political players and situation written by experts.
Additional Library Subject Guides