Research and Course Guides: Chemistry Seminar: Key Databases

SciFinder-n provides easy access to information in Chemical Abstracts Services resources: journal citations and abstracts, substance data, chemical reactions, regulatory data, chemical suppliers, and biomedical literature. Register below for an individual account.

Tutorials and webinars covering a wide variety of SciFinder tools and searches are available online at any time!

SciFinder-N This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
If you already have an account created, log in to SciFinder here.
For use of UST faculty, staff and students ONLY. You must first REGISTER by creating your own unique SciFinder username and password (when registering, use your UST email address).

SciFinder Registration
For use of UST faculty, staff and students ONLY. You must first REGISTER by creating your own unique SciFinder username and password (when registering, you MUST use your UST email address).

Other Helpful Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A good place to start your research, Academic Search Ultimate provides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources.
Expanded content and coverage replacing Academic Search Premier.
American Chemical Society (ACS) Publications This link opens in a new window
ACS Publications provides full-text access to over 70 journals, including the archives, and other information published by the American Chemical Society.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles on all aspects of medicine, published all over the world. Use for human biology, anatomy, and physiology, psychiatry, pharmacology, and health care management, administration, and policy. The MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) search is extremely helpful in finding terms. After you find an especially appropriate article, click on Related Records to find other articles of interest.
Royal Society of Chemistry This link opens in a new window
Current full-text coverage for five RSC journals: Chemical Communications, Chemical Society Review, Dalton Transactions, Organ Biomolecular Chemistry and Physical Chemistry Chemical Physics. Also includes selected full-text articles from another small group of RSC publications.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect offers access to the publications of Elsevier Science and its subsidiaries - nearly 2,500 journals and 30,000 books. The collection contains selected full text of journal articles (since 1995) and book chapters. The collection focuses on science, technology and medicine, it also contains many journal titles from other social science disciplines.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus calls itself the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: over 21,500 scientific journals, 130,000 books and conference proceedings, covering all fields of academic study: science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Scopus also includes 8 different citation metrics, analyzing impact at the author, article, journal, and institution levels.
Scopus vendor guide is here: https://elsevier.libguides.com/Scopus/home.

Chemistry Seminar

Interlibrary Loan Services

Search for Articles and more

Other Helpful Databases