Research and Course Guides: PUBH 200: Emerging Disease and Global Health: Researching an Emerging Infectious Disease

Finding Reliable Information

When you do research, you want to find the best information to support your ideas. This requires careful evaluation of the information you find.

Evaluate information...

To find the most relevant information for your topic and assignment	To weed out unreliable, biased, outdated, and/or incorrect information
To ensure the quality and reliability of your research	To make sure you get the information your professor is seeking
To find expert views, opinions, and research on your topic

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles on all aspects of medicine, published all over the world. Use for human biology, anatomy, and physiology, psychiatry, pharmacology, and health care management, administration, and policy. The MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) search is extremely helpful in finding terms. After you find an especially appropriate article, click on Related Records to find other articles of interest.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This is the world's most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals--with no embargo. It covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A good place to start your research, Academic Search Ultimate provides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources.
Expanded content and coverage replacing Academic Search Premier.

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary database of streaming videos (electronic videos) from Films Media Group. It provides academic videos in the subject areas of psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more. Now it covers foreign films under the World Cinema Collection.