Research and Course Guides: COMM 326: Communication in Popular Culture: Books & Media

LibrarySearch Catalog: Books

LibrarySearch provides a simple, one-stop search for books, articles, videos, recordings, and more. Items from St. Thomas and other regional libraries can be requested online and delivered to the St. Thomas library of your choice.

Locating books in the library

When you search for a book, make sure you have the following information:

Call Number (this is the "address" of the book)
Status (whether the book is Available or checked out)
Location/Floor

Remember:
Call numbers are book shelf addresses, unique to a single book. They indicate where a book is located in the library. Books are arranged alphabetically by the beginning letters of their call numbers. You will find the call number attached to or written on the spine of the book.

Once you find the book in the stacks, browse the shelf/shelves around it - you might find additional books that will be helpful to you.

LibrarySearch: DVD and Streaming Videos

Streaming Media

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary database of streaming videos (electronic videos) from Films Media Group. It provides academic videos in the subject areas of psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more. Now it covers foreign films under the World Cinema Collection.
Media Education Foundation Films This link opens in a new window
A database that contains documentaries and educational films on social, political, cultural issues, education, and American history.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online (formerly VAST) is a collection of streaming videos covering the areas of art, architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, economics, education, ethnic studies, ethnography, gay and lesbian studies, health, history, humanities, law and public safety, literature, opera, philosophy, political science, psychology, religion, science, theater, and women's studies.
Docuseek Complete Collection (3rd edition) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Docuseek Complete Collection (3rd Edition) provides access to more than 2000 videos from different distributors, including Bullfrog, Women Make Movies, Icarus Films, Good Docs, Film Movement and more. It contains documentaries in a wide range of subjects including, Environmental Studies, Political Science, Peace & Justice, Criminal Justice, Immigration, International Studies, Race and Racism, Ethnic Studies, History, Art, Media Studies, and more.
Film Platform This link opens in a new window
FILM PLATFORM serves as a bridge between academia and documentary film, bringing students and professors the most relevant and highly regarded films from the festival circuit. The collection is curated by film experts and leading academics to showcase critically-acclaimed documentaries of social, political and cultural importance, and the catalogue is continually growing.

Music & Movies

Movie Databases

Movies Databases

Swank This link opens in a new window
Swank Digital Campus allows the UST community to stream major motion pictures. You can watch any film from the interface or you can link the movie and add it to Canvas and assign it to students as course reserves.
Swank works best with Chrome or Firefox version 47 and up.
NOTE: This Collection is limited to classroom and personal use. This collection cannot be used for campus screenings (not for public events).
Films on Demand: Feature Films for Education This link opens in a new window
The Feature Films for Education Collection offers hundreds of full-length feature films for educational instructional purposes. The Collection focuses on both current and hard-to-find titles, including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award® winners, and more.

NOTE: This collection is limited to classroom use and personal use. This collection cannot be used for campus screening (not for public events). Available only to current UST students, faculty, and staff.