Research and Course Guides: +Environmental Science: Data and Statistics

Energy and Environment data

International Energy Agency Data & statistics
Data and statistics from the International Energy Agency (IEA)
Energy Information Administration
The Department of Energy's statistical agency, with information on petroleum, natural gas, coal, electricity, nuclear, renewable & alternative fuels: extraction, production, consumption, etc.
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
The EPA is the federal agency charged with protecting human health and safeguarding the natural environment. The agency collects and disseminates a wide variety of statistical data: browse or search the site by topic to find it.
Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center (SEDAC)
A NASA data center with datasets in thematic areas including agriculture, climate, conservation, governance, hazards, health, infrastructure, land use, marine/coastal, population, poverty, remote sensing, sustainability, urban, water.
UN Data
The main statistical data search page for the United Nations. Retrieves information across disparate UN databases, from countries around the world. See the "Metadata" link to see information about data sets, and the "More" link to see an advanced search and an "Explorer" view that allows you to browse by data set, source, or topic.
UN Data: Energy Statistics
Energy Statistics Database provides annual statistics on production, trade, transformation and consumption (end-use) for solid, liquid, and gaseous fuels, electricity, and heat. Statistics are provided for over 230 countries from 1950 onward, updated annually.

More data and help with data

*Datasets & Statistics Guide
by Jim Kelly Last Updated Dec 13, 2024 3286 views this year
Research Data Management
by Jim Kelly Last Updated Apr 15, 2024 284 views this year

Country profiles and data

Start here

Our Research Guide to Country Data is a good starting point for different types of information and data about a country.

Below are more links to resources that provide information and statistics by country. Some are available freely online and others require that you log in with your St. Thomas login.

CIA World Factbook
The U.S. government's complete geographical handbook, featuring 268 full-color maps and flags of all nations and geographical entities. Each country profile tracks such demographics as population, ethnicity and literacy rates, as well as political, geographical and economic data. Free web site.

Passport This link opens in a new window
Analysis, reports, data, and news for U.S. and international industries, companies and brands, consumers, and economies.
Passport user guide

UN Data
The main statistical data search page for the United Nations. Choose the country from the middle column under Popular statistical tables to get an overview of statistics for that country.

International Financial Statistics This link opens in a new window
From the International Monetary Fund (IMF), international financial data and macroeconomic indicators including measures of money supply, exchange rates, trade/balance of payments, prices/inflation, interest rates, employment, and national income & product accounts.

OECD Economic Surveys
Comprehensive economic analyses of OECD member and non-member countries. Choose Browse by Theme and Country to find reports, chapters, and data tables. Themes include Energy, Environment, Transportation, Nuclear Energy and more.
UN ComTrade
International merchandise trade statistics from the United Nations.
UN Sustainable Development Goals Indicators
Database of downloadable indicators on sustainability.
World Bank Countries & Regions
Includes country profiles, statistics, and general reports.
World Bank data portal
A new site searchable by country, topic, or indicator.
World Development Indicators
"The World Development Indicators (WDI) provides a comprehensive selection of economic, social and environmental indicators, drawing on data from the World Bank and more than 30 partner agencies. The database covers more than 900 indicators for 210 economies with data back to 1960."
more...less...
The new WDI 2010 focuses its attention on the world’s progress towards achieving the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs). The MDG targets are a framework for measuring progress set forth by United Nations and have been adopted by 189 nations. The introductory essays in the WDI 2010 highlight progress towards achieving these goals, which include eradicating poverty, reducing child mortality, ensuring environmental sustainability, and developing a global partnership for development.
World Development Report
World Development Indicators (the statistical portion) presents selected social, economic, and demographic data on 180 countries. This report is published by the World Bank on a different topic each year.
World Economic Outlook Databases
Selected macroeconomic data series including national accounts, inflation, unemployment rates, balance of payments, fiscal indicators, trade for countries and country groups (aggregates), and commodity prices. Data is available from 1980 to present. From the International Monetary Fund.