Research and Course Guides: Vocal Resources: Translations, Diction &amp; More

Online Sources

IPA Source This link opens in a new window
IPA Source was developed to benefit singers, teachers, and all those interested in the correct and knowledgeable performance of vocal literature. It is the largest collection of literal translations and International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions on the web. The goal of IPA Source is to promote the comprehension and accurate pronunciation of foreign language texts in art song and opera in order that the singer may imbue each syllable with the appropriate emotional content.

Aria Database
The Aria Database is a collection of information about opera and operatic arias.
Besides providing basic information about each aria, the Database includes translations for many arias and aria texts for those that are not affected by copyright restrictions.
Albert Schatz Collection
This collection consists of over 12,000 digitized libretti Albert Schatz collected during his life as a music dealer.
Diction Resources for Singers
A guide from the University of North Texas covering diction, translations, and interpretation of vocal music.

Who Married Figaro? by Joyce Bourne
Contains over 2,500 entries on operatic characters, with information on the creator of the role and notable performances.
The Grove Book of Opera Singers by Laura Macy (Editor)
Covering over 1500 singers from the birth of opera to the present day.
The Oxford Companion to the American Musical by Thomas S. Hischak
From films ranging from An American in Paris and Flying Down to Rio to such Broadway landmarks as Oklahoma and West Side Story and television hits such as Cinderella and High School Musical, the American musical has thrilled audiences around the world.