Vocal Resources

Browse the repertoire, discography, historical chronology, and lists of composers, performers, scholars, and additional resources dedicated to promoting contributions by African-Americans to art song.

Afrocentric Voices is a resource about American singers and composers of African descent trained in the classical tradition, and the vocal music forms they influenced.

"... working list of the non-idiomatic choral music of black composers"

The Institute promotes the music of historically underrepresented composers through its advocacy work and also by making available the Composer Diversity Database, Works Diversity Database, orchestra season analysis, bibliographies, and more.

This webpage houses public domain scores by composers of color.

This is an open access collection of scores from the Contemporary Score Edition series. It contains new music and scores from the Kaleidoscope 2020 Call for Scores published in collaboration with the UCLA Music Library.

A list of choral repertoire that challenges gender stereotypes as well as Activist Songs.

It contains art song by women composers. The database includes songs from the Baroque period through the 21st century, and have been categorized by level, voice type, language, composer, and composer dates.

"We Rise: A Movement Songbook draws on a rich history of social movement music, both old and new. From Spirituals to Labor songs, from Freedom Songs of the Civil Rights Movement to the music rising up from our struggles today, this compilation of movement music is meant to give people ways to join.

Welcome to the Choral Music by Women Composers database! This searchable, sortable database lists sample repertoire for all voicings by women composers of all eras, and is intended to be an ever-evolving resource for conductors interested in programming music by women.