Research and Course Guides: BUID 490: Global Business in London: Library Resources

Welcome, MGMT 200 & BUID 490 students!

In this guide, you'll find resources for researching global current events, as well as political, cultural, and economic information for different countries.

Global Current Events

Economist This link opens in a new window
The Economist is an important and respected English-language newsweekly magazine. This link gives access to a university-wide website subscription that should give you access to the content without paywalls. Includes current and prior coverage back to 1997; see the separate Economist Historical Archive for coverage back to 1843.

Global Media

Access World News This link opens in a new window
This database contains electronic editions of thousands of local, national and international newspapers, along with broadcast transcripts and college and university news. It also includes the St. Paul Pioneer Press and the Star Tribune.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Factiva is a great source for finding up-to-the-minute news articles from publications around the world including the Wall Street Journal, the New York Times, and the Financial Times. It also contains many smaller market news sources, trade magazines, and journals. Use the Companies and Markets option to access company profiles and industry data. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
If you use Factiva's Share>Within My Account feature to find links for emailing or to use in Canvas, that URL needs to be adjusted with a special code to connect it with our subscription. Copy that URL and paste it into our ProxyMe! widget to create the adjusted URL.

The BBC
"The BBC is the world's leading public service broadcaster. We’re impartial and independent, and every day we create distinctive, world-class programmes and content which inform, educate and entertain millions of people in the UK and around the world."
The Guardian (U.K.)
"Guardian Media Group is a global news organisation that delivers fearless, investigative journalism - giving a voice to the powerless and holding power to account."
The Times & Sunday Times (London)
Thetimes.co.uk hosts the digital edition of The Times, Britain’s oldest national daily newspaper, and its sister title The Sunday Times. The Times was founded in 1785.

Search Journal Titles

Find journals and newspapers subscribed to by St. Thomas. Enter all or the beginning of the title (e.g., New York Times or Harvard).

Country Portfolio

CIA World Factbook
The U.S. government's complete geographical handbook, featuring 268 full-color maps and flags of all nations and geographical entities. Each country profile tracks such demographics as population, ethnicity and literacy rates, as well as political, geographical and economic data. Free web site.

Passport This link opens in a new window
Euromonitor’s Passport is a global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, and surveys on industries, countries, and consumers worldwide. Available only to current UST students, faculty, and staff.
Political Risk Yearbook This link opens in a new window
Provides 45-65 page overviews of the history, economy, politics, and risk forecasts for 100 countries. It provides 10 years of economic data, with description and analysis of the political players and situation written by experts.

Freedom in the World Country Ratings, Freedom House
Freedom house is an independent non-governmental organization that supports the expansion of freedom in the world. They provide a comparative assessment of global political rights and civil liberties with data back to 1972.
Geert Hofstede Cultural Dimensions
Comparision of how values in the workplace are influenced by culture. Based on research by Prof. Geert-Hofstede, the scale gives perspective as to the business culture and negotiation styles of communication. This tool also allows the user to compare the negotiation styles between two countries.
Transparency International
Measures corruption worldwide using tools such as the Corruption Perception Index, the Bribe Payers Index, and the Global Corruption Barometer.

Online Research Help

You can get research help from a librarian in the following ways:

Email form:https://library.stthomas.edu/ask/email/
Live chat: use the widget in the lower right corner of this page
Text: (651) 504-1324

Contact me for assistance

Marianne Hageman

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

mdhageman@stthomas.edu
O'Shaughnessy-Frey Library | LIB 156

(651) 962-5404

Subjects: Business, Emerging Media, Marketing

Research Consultations

Research Consultations: Research Help by Appointment

Research Consultations are scheduled one-on-one meetings with a subject librarian. You can also schedule a consultation for a small group. Consultations usually last 30 minutes and are scheduled at a mutually convenient time. Contact a business librarian to schedule a consultation.