Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Linnaeus' Classification of Species
Don't forget about reference materials! Items such as encyclopedias and dictionaries can be an excellent starting point for your research. In addition to offering reliable background information on issues and topics in your area of interest, they can also help you find a research topic.
Credo This link opens in a new window
Provides access to hundreds of online reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations from a variety of publishers. Covers both general reference and subject-specific reference titles for a variety of disciplines. Topic Pages give great background overviews on subjects.
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Spanning the entire spectrum of life sciences, it is a primary resource for researchers, students and teachers. Search for your species using the specific "Genus/Species" search.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Full-text encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference contains full text dictionaries and encyclopedias from the Oxford University Press. It is easy to search and contains entries on a wide array of topics from business, computing and environmental science to art, biology, literature, religion, and political science.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Science Reference Center provides easy access to full-text science content including encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, web sites, pictures, illustrations, audio clips and video clips. Includes ability to limit by lexile reading levels.
Species Background Information
Animal Diversity Web
Animal Diversity Web (ADW) is an online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan.
Encyclopedia of Life
a free, online collaborative encyclopedia intended to document all of the 1.9 million living species known to science. It is compiled from existing databases and from contributions by experts and non-experts throughout the world. It aims to build one "infinitely expandable" page for each species, including video, sound, images, graphics, as well as text.
Life Sciences Dictionary
Online life sciences dictionary, glossary and terms directory.
Animal Genome Size Database
A comprehensive catalogue of animal genome size data. Haploid DNA contents (C-values, in picograms) are currently available for 4972 species (3231 vertebrates and 1741 non-vertebrates) based on 6518 records from 669 published sources.
, Computer & Information Sciences
, Health and Exercise Science
Ask a Librarian
Chat with us during library reference hours using the widget in the lower right corner of this page, or use our Ask a Librarian page to contact us.
ScienceDaily features breaking news about the latest discoveries in science, health, the environment, technology, and more -- from leading universities, scientific journals, and research organizations.