Research and Course Guides: ARTH 340: Southern Renaissance Art: Getting Started

Art and Love in the Italian Renaissance

The Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History is an amazing resource for this course.

Background Information--In Print

Iconography of Heaven by Clifford Davidson
Call Number: UST-OSF Stacks N8150 .I28 1994
Publication Date: 1994
The patron's payoff : conspicuous commissions in Italian Renaissance art by Jonathan Katz Nelson
Call Number: UST-OSF Stacks N5273 .N45 2008
ISBN: 9780691125411
Publication Date: 2008
Saints and their symbols : recognizing saints in art and in popular images by Fernando Lanzi
Call Number: UST-OSF Oversize BX4655.3 .L3613 2004
ISBN: 0814629709
Publication Date: 2004
A World Art History and its Objects by David Carrier
Call Number: N380 .C38 2008
ISBN: 0271034149

Introduction

Welcome to the resource guide for Southern Renaissance Art! Use this guide to find books, articles, images, and other resources about Southern Renaissance Art. Here you can find sources of information about art of the 14th-16th centuries in Spain, Italy and Portugal.

The University of St. Thomas Libraries have a wealth of information in print and online about artists and their art. Please contact me if you have need help with your research or to add suggestions to this guide. For basic introductions, see the Oxford Art Online.

Background Information--Electronic

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
The most exhaustive background source for art research. Encyclopedias, dictionaries, the Grove Dictionary of Art and several other resources. Includes extensive image archives from several major North American museums. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
A searchable database of more than 1 million images, covering many time periods, cultures and disciplines. Users can search, view and download images.

A Companion to the Worlds of the Renaissance
Provides background information --economics, intellectual life, social conditions--of the Renaissance.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Access to full-text available through UST subscription resources. Click "Get it@UST Libraries." to get free full-text

Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Biography in Context includes over 700,000 biographical entries covering more than 400,000 notable international figures from all time periods and areas of study.

google

Subject Guide

Kathryn Burke

Email Me

Contact:

O’Shaughnessy-Frey Library | LIB 117

651 962-5027

Subjects: Aerospace Studies, Art History, Catholic Studies, Environmental, Geography, Geology, Mathematics, Philosophy, Physics, Sustainability, Theology & Religion

About OSF

Library Hours

O'Shaughnessy-Frey Library
651-962-5494 (Circulation)
651-962-5001 (Reference)
651-962-5400 (Hours)
2115 Summit Ave, St. Paul, MN 55105
Directions & Parking

ARTH 340: Southern Renaissance Art: Getting Started