Use these specialized topical sources to browse for paper topics and for information on specific events, places and themes.
African American Alamnac
Greenwood Encyclopedia of African-American Civil Rights
MacMillan Encyclopedia of World Slavery
Historical Encyclopedia of World Slavery
Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance
The Columbia Guide to African American History Since 1939American National Biography provides biographical information relating to significant men and women from all periods of United States history. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Includes over 700,000 biographical entries covering more than 400,000 notable international figures from all time periods and areas of study.
Includes 4 music reference resources: "Grove Music"--full texts of New Grove Music, New Grove Opera, and New Grove Jazz; "Oxford Companion to Music" and "Oxford Dictionary of Music"--concise articles on musicians, individual works, instruments, notation, forms, & genres; and "Encyclopedia of Popular Music"--covers all genres and periods of popular music from 1900 to the present including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Excellent background source for art research. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Biographies, critical analyses, and reviews of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.
