Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide provides information and links to resources for music business avaiilable at UST Libraries. Use the tabs to help find books, academic articles, videos, and information on how to cite sources. Contact the Music Liaison Librarian if you have questions or need research assistance.
2115 Summit Ave, St. Paul, MN 55105
Directions & Parking
Encyclopedias & Dictonaries
Oxford Music Online
Encyclopedic information on music and musicians. You will find much information under broad headings, such as "Rock," "Blues," "Country Music." Also under individuals ("Johnny Cash"), groups ("Beatles"), or genres ("Gospel Music").
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management (2nd Ed.)
A comprehensive 12 vol. business encyclopedia covering all major sub-fields of business. Articles arranged alphabetically within subject volumes; they contain good background information on the listed topic plus a bibliography for further reading. Part of Blackwell Reference Online. (See the Wiley Encyclopedia of Management below for the more up-to-date 3rd Edition).
International Directory Of Business Biographies
Examines the career paths, business achievements, leadership styles, business strategies and industry impact of Fortune 500 and Global 500 corporate leaders, as well as entrepreneurs and other notable businesspeople through in-depth biographical narratives. Part of Gale Virtual Reference Library.
New Penguin Business Dictionary (CREDO)
This dictionary should prove useful for those pursuing business courses and for those who need to get to grips with the jargon of the business and management world. It covers all aspects of business from accounting through marketing and organizational behaviour to human resource management.
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management: Marketing
Features over 250 articles on marketing including information on cross-cultural marketing, research in marketing methodologies, societal marketing, and marketing strategies. Volume IX of the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management.
Business Plans Handbook (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
A collection of actual business plans compiled by entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses throughout North America.
Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S.
The Encyclopedia of Associations is a comprehensive source of detailed information about industry organizations, professional societies, cultural organizations, fan clubs and other types of groups along with links to web sites, e-mail and other contact information. Part of Gale Directory Library.
Wiley Encyclopedia of Management
A reference source, with entries ranging from fifty–word definitions of key terms to short essays reviewing areas of development and debate, includes sophisticated cross-referencing. With an increase of over thirty-percent in the number of entries, from over 1,500 contributors world-wide, this multi-volume set is a vital resource for scholars, students, and professionals.
The Music and Media Collections
The Music and Media Collections house more than 100,000 titles in streaming audio, streaming video, music CDs, DVDs and VHSs. Located in room 104 A in the OSF Librar.The music scores, music books and music journals are located within the OSF Library stacks.
Head of the Music and Media Collections/Reference
Circulation Music and Media Collections