It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Political science and journalism researchers will find this resource useful for comprehensive country profiles, chronicles of national history, government, and political parties, as well as information on intergovernmental organizations, development banks, and the agencies and specialized bodies of the United Nations.
Provides 45-65 page overviews of the history, economy, politics, and risk forecasts for 100 countries. It provides 10 years of economic data, with description and analysis of the political players and situation written by experts.
Euromonitor’s Passport is a global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, and surveys on industries, countries, and consumers worldwide. Restricted to current UST students, faculty, and staff only. Even on campus you must log in with your UST username/password.
Mergent Intellect is useful for locating information about private companies. Intellect also covers public companies and includes a broad range of industry reports. Note: public company records in Intellect are not as detailed as those available in Mergent Online.
Use of the Mergent data and service are intended for non-commercial academic purposes only.
What if overviews are not enough?
You may very well find that your industry or company doesn't have it's own clean cut overview. What do you do? Alternative strategies include looking for articles in news and business publications.
Business Source Premier provides the full text of more than two thousand business publications. It is a comprehensive database that covers all disciplines of business including management, finance, marketing and international trade. It also contains company, industry and country reports.
ABI/Inform Trade & Industry contains business and in depth company and industry articles from over 2,000 scholarly, trade and news publications. It also includes reports from major and smaller, niche industries that contain information for entrepreneurs and financial data perfect for marketing and business plans
Hey, one last thing before you go! Trade associations
Check trade associations to find out more about an industry. Trade associations educate and advocate for their industries, and therefore might collect data not available from any other source, including industry statistics, reports, trends, and more. Articles you read often mention trade and industry associations by name; you can search for their websites.