Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In this guide, you'll find resources for researching global current events, as well as political, cultural, and economic information for different countries.
About OSF & Keffer Libraries
2115 Summit Ave, St. Paul, MN 55105
Directions & Parking
Charles J. Keffer Library
MOH 206, 1000 LaSalle Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55403
Directions & Parking
Global Current Events
The Economist is an important and respected English-language newsweekly magazine. This link gives access to a university-wide website subscription that should give you access to the content without paywalls. Includes current and prior coverage back to 1997; see the separate Economist Historical Archive
for coverage back to 1843.
CIA World Factbook
The U.S. government's complete geographical handbook, featuring 268 full-color maps and flags of all nations and geographical entities. Each country profile tracks such demographics as population, ethnicity and literacy rates, as well as political, geographical and economic data. Free web site.
Euromonitor’s Passport is a global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, and surveys on industries, countries, and consumers worldwide. Restricted to current UST students, faculty, and staff only. Even on campus you must log in with your UST username/password.
Political Risk Yearbook
Provides 45-65 page overviews of the history, economy, politics, and risk forecasts for 100 countries. It provides 10 years of economic data, with description and analysis of the political players and situation written by experts.
Freedom in the World Country Ratings, Freedom House
Freedom house is an independent non-governmental organization that supports the expansion of freedom in the world. They provide a comparative assessment of global political rights and civil liberties with data back to 1972.
Geert Hofstede Cultural Dimensions
Comparision of how values in the workplace are influenced by culture. Based on research by Prof. Geert-Hofstede, the scale gives perspective as to the business culture and negotiation styles of communication. This tool also allows the user to compare the negotiation styles between two countries.
Measures corruption worldwide using tools such as the Corruption Perception Index, the Bribe Payers Index, and the Global Corruption Barometer.