Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
17th Century Revolution Resources
The Oxford Handbook of the English Revolution
This Handbook brings together leading historians of the events surrounding the English revolution, exploring how the events of the revolution grew out of, and resonated, in the politics and interactions of the each of the Three Kingdoms - England, Scotland, and Ireland. It captures a shared British and Irish history, comparing the significance of events and outcomes across the Three Kingdoms. In doing so, the Handbook offers a broader context for the history of the Scottish Covenanters, the Irish Rising of 1641, and the government of Confederate Ireland, as well as the British and Irish perspective on the English civil wars, the English revolution, the Regicide, and Cromwellian period.
The Oxford Handbook of Literature and the English Revolution
This Handbook offers a comprehensive introduction and thirty-seven new essays by an international team of literary critics and historians on the writings generated by the tumultuous events of mid-seventeenth-century England. Unprecedented events-civil war, regicide, the abolition of monarchy,proscription of episcopacy, constitutional experiment, and finally the return of monarchy-led to an unprecedented outpouring of texts, including new and transformed literary genres and techniques.The Handbook provides up-to-date scholarship on current issues as well as historical information, textual analysis, and bibliographical tools to help readers understand and appreciate the bold and indeed revolutionary character of writing in mid-seventeenth-century England.
Additional Companions and Handbooks
The following resources provide chapter-length overviews of a variety of themes including political development, the nature of the state and governance, political theory, social relations, urban and rural history, and others. Each chapter is written by a leading expert and provides useful suggestions for further reading.
A Companion to Tudor Britain
A Companion to Tudor Britain provides an authoritative overview of historical debates about this period, focusing on the whole British Isles. An authoritative overview of scholarly debates about Tudor Britain Focuses on the whole British Isles, exploring what was commonand what was distinct to its four constituent elements Emphasises big cultural, social, intellectual, religious and economic themes Describes differing political and personal experiences of the time Discusses unusual subjects, such as the sense of the past amongst British constituent identities, the relationship of cultural forms to social and political issues, and the role of scientific inquiry Bibliographies point readers to further sources of information
A Companion to Stuart Britain
Covering the period from the accession of James I to the death ofQueen Anne, this companion provides a magisterial overview of the?long' seventeenth century in British history. Comprises original contributions by leading scholars of theperiod Gives a magisterial overview of the ?long' seventeenthcentury Provides a critical reference to historical debates aboutStuart Britain Offers new insights into the major political, religious andeconomic changes that occurred during this period Includes bibliographical guidance for students andscholars
The Oxford Handbook of the Age of Shakespeare
The Oxford Handbook of the Age of Shakespeare presents a broad sampling of current historical scholarship on the period of Shakespeare's career. Different sections examine political history at both the national and local levels;relationships between intellectual culture and the early modern political imagination; relevant aspects of religious and social history; and facets of the histories of architecture, the visual arts and music. Topics treated include the emergence of an early modern 'public sphere' and its relationship to drama during Shakespeare's lifetime; the role of historical narratives in shaping the period's views on the workings of politics; attitudes about the role of emotion in social life; cultures of honour and shame and the rituals and literary forms through which they found expression;crime and murder; and visual expressions of ideas of moral disorder and natural monstrosity, in printed images as well as garden architecture.
The Oxford Handbook of the Protestant Reformations
This is the first Handbook of the Reformations to include global Protestantism, and the most comprehensive Handbook on the development of Protestant practices which has been published so far. The volume brings together international scholars in the fields of theology, intellectual thought, and social and cultural history. Contributions focus on key themes, such as Martin Luther or the Swiss reformations, offering an up-to-date perspective on current scholarly debates, but they also address many new themes at the cutting edge of scholarship, with particularly emphasis on the history of emotions, the history of knowledge, and global history.
The Oxford Handbook of Modern Scottish History
Major themes covered in this volume include the Reformation, the Union of 1707, the Scottish Enlightenment, Clearances, Industrialization, Empire, Emigration, and the Great War. Also addressed are issues such as the Scottish environment, myth, family, criminality, the literary tradition, and Scotland's contemporary history.
The Cambridge Companion to Puritanism
Call Number: OSF Stacks BX9323 .C36 2008
This book includes chapters relating to issues of gender, literature, politics and popular culture in addition to addressing the Puritans' core concerns such as theology and devotional praxis, and coverage extends to Irish, Welsh, Scottish and European versions of Puritanism as well as to English and American practice.
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Use these specialized topical sources to browse for paper topics and for information on specific events, places and themes. These works provide useful short discussions of hundreds of people, events, and institutions.
Find Biographical Information
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
55,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2003. Limited to 3 simultaneous users.
Dictionary of Irish Biography
The Dictionary of Irish Biography provides biographical information on the lives of deceased Irish men and women who made a significant contribution in Ireland and abroad, as well as those born overseas who had noteworthy careers in Ireland.