Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide provides information and links to resources for research methods in music education avaiilable at UST Libraries. Use the tabs to help find books, academic articles, videos, and information on how to cite sources. Contact the Music Liaison Librarian if you have questions or need research assistance.
2115 Summit Ave, St. Paul, MN 55105
Directions & Parking
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Includes 4 music reference resources: "Grove Music"--full texts of New Grove Music, New Grove Opera, and New Grove Jazz; "Oxford Companion to Music" and "Oxford Dictionary of Music"--concise articles on musicians, individual works, instruments, notation, forms, & genres; and "Encyclopedia of Popular Music"--covers all genres and periods of popular music from 1900 to the present including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
The Oxford Handbook of Music Education V. 1
The Oxford Handbook of Music Education, which comprises of two volumes, offers an overview of the many facets of musical experience, behavior, and development in relation to this diverse variety of contexts.
The Oxford Handbook of Music Education V. 2
This second volume collects an international list of contributors to explore how music learning takes place outside of the traditional classroom environment. Discussing a range of issues such as music education for the special needs population, music learning in adulthood, and more.
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Biography in Context includes over 700,000 biographical entries covering more than 400,000 notable international figures from all time periods and areas of study.
Background Information in Print
The Music and Media Collections
The Music and Media Collections house more than 100,000 titles in streaming audio, streaming video, music CDs, DVDs and VHSs. Located in room 104 A in the OSF Librar.The music scores, music books and music journals are located within the OSF Library stacks.
Head of the Music and Media Collections/Reference
Circulation Music and Media Collections