Multicultural Research Guide for Teachers: Getting Started

Library Hours

O'Shaughnessy-Frey Library
651-962-5494 (Circulation)
651-962-5001 (Reference)
651-962-5400 (Hours)
2115 Summit Ave, St. Paul, MN 55105
Directions & Parking

Charles J. Keffer Library
651-962-4642 (Circulation)
651-962-4664 (Reference)
651-962-4640 (Hours)
MOH 206, 1000 LaSalle Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55403
Directions & Parking

This guide includes a selection of resources to help you get started with a research project on multicultural education or on a specific ethnic group. Use the tabs above to explore these resources.

• Getting Started--where you are right now
• Finding Books--search for print or electronic books, located in a library or online
• Reference Sources--encyclopedias and research handbooks, good for a summary of research on a topic
• Finding Articles--good places to start when you are looking for journal articles
• Countries and Cultures--databases and other sources for finding country or cultural information
• Statistics--try these sources if you need a statistic about the educational status of a minority group
• Websites--these pages include resources for the classroom as well as links for cultural groups and media in Minnesota
• Multimedia--video, audio, and other nonprint resouces of interest
• Citing Sources--help for completing the bibliography for your paper/project

You will find that library resources related to multicultural education are housed in different locations at St. Thomas. Here's the distinction. Keffer Library has a research collection (mostly published after 1990, and including both reference and circulating items), a curriculum collection (sample textbooks and resources for the classroom, including guides for addressing cultural/ethnic issues), and the Hubbs Children's Literature Collection (children's and young adult books by authors of many cultural backgrounds, and guides for identifying them). O'Shaughnessey Frey Library has research materials that are a bit older in age, but may be valuable if you need historical background.