An introductory guide to Music Research
Last Updated: Nov 18, 2013
The Beatles arriving in NY 1964.
O' Shaughnessy-Frey Library
2115 Summit Ave, St. Paul, MN 55105
Directions & Parking
Welcome to the library guide for research in Music. Here you'll find the basic information to get you started. The UST libraries have many resources--books, journal articles, scores, recordings, and videos. If you have questions or suggestions, please get in touch with me, Susan Price. 651-962-5011 or firstname.lastname@example.org
- Oxford Music Online
Includes 4 music reference resources: "Grove Music"--full texts of New Grove Music, New Grove Opera, and New Grove Jazz; "Oxford Companion to Music" and "Oxford Dictionary of Music"--concise articles on musicians, individual works, instruments, notation, forms, & genres; and "Encyclopedia of Popular Music"--covers all genres and periods of popular music from 1900 to the present including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
- Smithsonian Global Sound
Smithsonian Global Sound streaming audio database has more than 40,000 individual tracks of music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds from Smithsonian/Folkways and other record labels. Included are readings of literary and dramatic works, historic speeches, language instruction, natural sounds, environmental and mechanical sounds, sound effects, children's music, and traditional music from virtually everywhere in the world. Playlists can be created for personal or classroom use.
- Biography In Context
Biography in Context includes over 600,000 biographies on more than 500,000 people. Biographical information on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
- Women Composers:a Bibliography of Internet Resources
Provides quick access to information about women composers