II. Associations & Organizations
III. Comprehensive Sites & Law Portals
III. Asylum Law Resources
(See the Government Agencies tab for links to federal resources.)
ABA Commission on Immigration
The Commission directs the Association’s efforts to ensure fair treatment and full due process rights for immigrants and refugees within the United States.
ACLU Immigrants' Rights
"The ACLU Immigrants' Rights Project is dedicated to expanding and enforcing the civil liberties and civil rights of immigrants and to combating public and private discrimination against these groups."
Immigration Court Practice Manual (EOIR)
Immigration Judge Benchbook (EOIR)
U.S. Citizenship & Immigration Services
United States Department of Justice Executive Office for Immigration Review (EOIR)
Provides links to statistics, forms, AG/BIA decisions, and numerous other materials.
American Immigration Council (formerly the American Immigration Law Foundation)
Non-profit, advocacy organization that includes the Legal Action Center with detailed Practice Advisories for practitioners on various immigration law topics. Provides recent decisions related to one-year filing deadline and additional resources for attorneys.
American Immigration Lawyers Association (AILA)
Includes links to cases and decisions, management tools, and web resources.
*NOTE: Contact the Schoenecker Law librarians for AILA login and password.
Center for Gender & Refugee Studies
"Available from this site is a selection of decisions in gender asylum cases, including decisions by U.S. federal courts of appeal; CGRS summaries of unpublished decisions decisions in gender asylum cases by asylum officers, immigration judges, and appellate decisions by the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA); governmental gender guidelines; briefs from CGRS’s gender asylum brief bank; and a select bibliography of scholarly articles and news on gender and asylum."
Center for Immigration Studies
"The Center for Immigration Studies is an independent, non-partisan, non-profit, research organization. Since our founding in 1985, we have pursued a single mission – providing immigration policymakers, the academic community, news media, and concerned citizens with reliable information about the social, economic, environmental, security, and fiscal consequences of legal and illegal immigration into the United States."
Federation for American Immigration Reform
"The Federation for American Immigration Reform (FAIR) is a national, nonprofit, public-interest, membership organization of concerned citizens who share a common belief that our nation's immigration policies must be reformed to serve the national interest. FAIR seeks to improve border security, to stop illegal immigration, and to promote immigration levels consistent with the national interest."
Immigrant Legal Resource Center
"The Immigrant Legal Resource Center (ILRC) is a national non-profit resource center that provides legal trainings, educational materials, and advocacy to advance immigrant rights. The mission of the ILRC is to work with and educate immigrants, community organizations, and the legal sector to continue to build a democratic society that values diversity and the rights of all people."
Immigration Equality
"Immigration Equality is a national organization fighting for equality under U.S. immigration law for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and HIV-positive individuals. Founded in 1994 as the Lesbian and Gay Immigration Rights Task Force, Immigration Equality provides legal aid and advocacy for LGBT and HIV-positive immigrants and their families."
NAFSA: Association of International Educators
"NAFSA advances public policies that promote international education and is committed to supporting a broad public dialogue about the value and importance of international education."
National Immigration Forum
The National Immigration Forum advocates for the value of immigrants and immigration to our nation. Their work is centered on four overarching priority concerns: immigration reform and workforce needs, integration and citizenship, borders and interior enforcement, and state and local immigration developments.
National Immigration Law Center
"The National Immigration Law Center envisions a society in which all people -- regardless of race, gender, immigration or economic status -- are treated fairly and humanely. NILC engages in policy analysis, litigation, education and advocacy, to achieve this vision. NILC plays a critical role within the movement for racial, economic and social justice for low-income immigrants."
National Lawyer's Guild: National Immigration Project
"The National Immigration Project is a national non-profit that provides legal and technical support to immigrant communities, legal practitioners, and all advocates seeking to advance the rights of noncitizens."
Legal Information Institute (Cornell) (Immigration)
Provides and overview and links to resources.
Findlaw (Immigration Law Center)
"Information and resources on applying for U.S. citizenship, green cards, temporary visas, as well as information on dealing with immigration violations. Learn about the citizenship and naturalization process, permanent residency, temporary work visas, student visas, protection from deportation, and more."
HierosGamos (Immigration Law - US)
A guide to U.S. immigration law that provides information, overviews, definitions, and links, as well as links to articles related to immigration law posted on HG.org.
ILW.com
Free information on immigration law-related material and resources, including various blogs, articles, news items, books, seminars and other resources. Find the latest information regarding immigration law through a number of active communities including discussion boards, LinkedIn group, letters to editor and Twitter, to foster dialogs on immigration law.
Immigration Links
A wealth of links to news and resources on visas, green cards, citizenship, deportation, etc.
Migration Information Source
"The Migration Information Source provides fresh thought, authoritative data from numerous global organizations and governments, and global analysis of international migration and refugee trends. A unique online resource, the Source offers useful tools, vital data, and essential facts on the movement of people worldwide."
VisaLaw.com Immigration Law Portal
Supported by Siskind Susser, one of the largest immigration law firms in North America. Includes links and resources, as well as articles from Siskind's Immigration Bulletin.
Refworld
"Refworld is the leading source of information necessary for taking quality decisions on refugee status. Refworld contains a vast collection of reports relating to situations in countries of origin, policy documents and positions, and documents relating to international and national legal frameworks. The information has been carefully selected and compiled from UNHCR's global network of field offices, Governments, international, regional and non-governmental organizations, academic institutions and judicial bodies."
Affirmative Asylum Procedures Manual
From the Office of International Affairs Asylum Division
Asylum & Refugee Resources
From the University of Minnesota Human Rights Library. Includes links to statutory materials, treaties, cases, organizations, and other helpful resources.
AsylumLegal.org
Includes a wealth of information on asylum, including forms and documents, information about the process of asylum in various countries, and lesson plans used by the Immigration Officer Academy (including a plan on the one-year filing deadline).
European Council on Refugees & Exiles
"ECRE is now a pan-European Alliance of 70 organisations in 30 countries, established to promote the rights of those who seek international protection in Europe. At the European Union level, ECRE pursues policy initiatives, research, advocacy activities and projects aimed at stimulating positive thinking on refugees and legislative reform in Europe. Its actions are also intended to counteract the manifestations of racism, xenophobia and social exclusion that undermine the institution of asylum."
Asylum Case Research
Georgetown Law Library research guide describing how to conduct research when representing a client seeking asylum. Most of the links available from this guide are accessible freely online.
UN Women’s Family Law Database
This is the first mapping of its kind that goes beyond the boundaries of traditional family law to examine the entire legal system of a country to identify the law’s subtle and powerful impact on a woman’s status in her family. Provisions that govern and control a woman’s relationship to her family inform her political, economic and social status. These unequal provisions are found in the laws governing property, inheritance, custody, guardianship, marriage, divorce, residence, citizenship, domicile, age of marriage, guardianship, female genital mutilation (FGM), “husband obedience “ and sex-selective laws, among others. In many countries around the world, family law is a locus of gender discrimination and magnifies the unequal status of women in the public sphere and limit their opportunity to participate in public life, whether political, economic or social.
Asylum Statistics by Nationality
EOIR's frequently requested FOIA information.
