Research and Course Guides: Student Affairs: Background Info

Introduction

Articles chop up your topic into little, narrow questions. If you find 5 articles, each presenting a narrow study, it's often hard to see how they fit together and what question they are all trying to answer. But encyclopedias and handbooks

Give you overviews of your topic
Lead you to the important questions asked by researchers.
Contain articles written by experts in their fields.
Put your idea or question into a historical, research, or social context.
Lead you to further references.

Associations: Sources for Issues

Use associations to find out about conferences and hot issues in your field (i.e., topics for your papers).

Helpful Websites

Higher Education Support Toolkit from the Center for Psychiatric Rehabilitation

Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Articles, journals, and books published by Wiley across a variety of disciplines.
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
This resource is a combination of "an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia". Articles are written by renowned scholars in the fields and resources are reviewed for "scholarly accuracy, authority, and objectivity. UST currently subscribes to several, but not all, subject collections.

Handbook of research on the education of young children
The college blue book
Information about colleges and universities in the United States: admissions, enrollment, course offerings, and demographics.

Handbook on Student Administration

The handbook of student affairs administration by George S. McClellan, Jeremy Stringer, and associates.
Call Number: LB2342.92 .B37 2009
ISBN: 0787997331

In Print Encyclopedias

Handbook of Education Policy Research by Gary Sykes, Barbara Schneider, David N. Plank
Call Number: Keffer Ref LC71 .H363 2009
Lengthy articles providing background information on policy issues in education -- elementary, secondary, and higher education. Very helpful references to research in the field. Table of Contents

Find these in the reference section of Keffer Library!

Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership & Administration by Fenwick W. English, ed.
Call Number: Keffer Ref LB2805 .E527 2006
Articles on theories, concepts, research, and history in all areas of educational leadership an administration: testing, teachers, schools, psychology, administration, and law and policy among others.
Psychology of Classroom Learning: An encyclopedia
Call Number: LB1060 .P89 2009
ISBN: 0028661672
Discussions of various developmental and learning theories and their application to the classroom and education systems.

Subject Guide

Conrad Woxland

he/him/his

Contact:

conrad.woxland@stthomas.edu
Charles J. Keffer Library | MOH 206F

651-962-4662

Subjects: Education, Psychology