Research and Course Guides: +Psychology (Graduate): Finding Articles

GET IT button

When searching in a database, the full text of an article is often available, but sometimes it is not. If you see the "Get It" button, the full text of the article is available, but it is in another database. Click on this button to be linked to the full-text of the article.

However, sometimes the full text is not available immediately. If UST libraries does not subscribe to the journal the article was published in, you can still get the full text. Use Interlibrary Loan to get a PDF of the article emailed to you for free.

Which Database Should I Start With?

UST libraries subscribe to over 200 databases! All databases related to psychology are found on this page, but feel free to start with the Best Bets or the databases below:

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Start here when you need to find research in psychology. Which areas of psychology? Just about all of them. PsycINFO covers mental health, counseling, cognitive science, neuroscience, education, learning, family studies and language. Provides full-text access (back to the first issue) of the journals published by the American Psychological Association, as well as other association journals and many books and book chapters.
PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
PILOTS is a bibliographic database produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in White River Junction, Vermont, and is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, while offering both current and retrospective coverage.

Databases for Psychology

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Start here when you need to find research in psychology. Which areas of psychology? Just about all of them. PsycINFO covers mental health, counseling, cognitive science, neuroscience, education, learning, family studies and language. Provides full-text access (back to the first issue) of the journals published by the American Psychological Association, as well as other association journals and many books and book chapters.
PsychiatryOnline (Including the DSM) This link opens in a new window
Includes all editions, supplements and revisions of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual, from the DSM to the DSM-IV-TR. Includes:
- Some textbooks
- Practice Guidelines and self-assessment tools for study
- Browse for a disorder in the DSM (like Bipolar Disorder) and find related links
- Also available View Entire DSM Library

PubMed
Indexes articles on medicine published all over the world. Use for
psychiatric illnesses
psychopharmacology
health care management
health care administration
mental health policy
Utilize MeSH (Medical Subject Heads) searching for specific content. After finding a relevant article, click on 'Related Records' to find other articles of interest.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus calls itself the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: over 21,500 scientific journals, 130,000 books and conference proceedings, covering all fields of academic study: science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Scopus also includes 8 different citation metrics, analyzing impact at the author, article, journal, and institution levels.
Scopus vendor guide is here: https://elsevier.libguides.com/Scopus/home.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Identifies resources in the field of sociology and related subject areas. Includes full text journals for social work -- exceptionally good for family studies and therapy. It also includes a thesaurus of sociological terms
PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
PILOTS' goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events.

Especially useful for studies on survivors of war
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Includes articles on all aspects of child development: social, emotional, and cognitive, especially in relation to school. Also includes articles on children's adjustment to disability: learning, mental and physical.