Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Economists love graphs!
Common Business Newspaper & Journal links
- to focus your search, use the limits on the left side of the result page
- try the Peer Review limit to focus your results on scholarly articles
- learn more about LibrarySearch
Search Journal Titles
Find journals and newspapers subscribed to by St. Thomas. Enter all or the beginning of the title (e.g., New York Times or Harvard).
This guide will help identify good sources for newspaper and news magazine articles in Economics. It was designed for short paper assignments where students must read, analyze, and discuss recent articles on micro or macro economic topics.
The Economist is an important and respected English-language newsweekly magazine. This link gives access to a university-wide website subscription that should give you access to the content without paywalls. Includes current and prior coverage back to 1997; see the separate Economist Historical Archive
for coverage back to 1843.
ProQuest US Newsstream, including Star Tribune
Global Newsstream searches newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites with current content, extending back into the 1980s. Full text of The New York Times, Star Tribune, Pioneer Press, and Wall Street Journal, among countless others.
Access World News
This database contains electronic editions of thousands of local, national and international newspapers, along with broadcast transcripts and college and university news. It also includes the St. Paul Pioneer Press and the Star Tribune.
Factiva is a great source for finding up-to-the-minute news articles from publications around the world including the Wall Street Journal, the New York Times, and the Financial Times. It also contains many smaller market news sources, trade magazines, and journals. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
Business Source Premier
A comprehensive database of newspaper, magazine, trade, and academic journal articles--for this assignment you'll want to focus on the magazine content and limit your search results to that. Includes BusinessWeek, The Economist, U.S. News & World Report, among others. (also part of another aggregated database referred to as 'Megafile').
LibrarySearch (All-in-one search tool)
LibrarySearch searches across our newspaper, magazine, journal, book, and video collections. To find magazine or newspaper articles, do a topical/keyword search, then use the filters on the left side of the search results to limit to newspapers or magazines.
Journal Title Search
Search our journal listings (including newspapers & magazines) to find a particular title, and follow the links to a searchable & browseable version of that title.
Proquest US Newsstream Search examples
Let's say you want to find articles in the Wall Street Journal relating to the Obama administration's proposal for economic stimulus, and especially the "Cash for Clunkers" program. You might try the following search:
Business Source Premier search example
Type the search terms as above, then select magazines using the radio button above the search results (you can also search within specific titles if desired):
2115 Summit Ave, St. Paul, MN 55105
Directions & Parking