Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide provides information and links to resources for understanding music and culture available at UST Libraries. Use the tabs to help find books, academic articles, videos, and information on how to cite sources. Contact the Music Liaison Librarian if you have questions or need research assistance.
2115 Summit Ave, St. Paul, MN 55105
Directions & Parking
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedic information on music and musicians. Look up a country and find information on its instruments and music history.
Music Online: Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online This link opens in a new window
Over 1,000 articles covering the music of all the world’s peoples, with over 200 audio tracks. Includes overviews of geographic regions, their musical heritages, and descriptions of genres, practices, and performances.
Bloomsbury Music & Sound This link opens in a new window
Provides scholarly coverage of modern popular music worldwide, from the early 20th century to the present day. Explore the historical origins and cultural impact of popular music from almost every country in the world and discover more about influential artists and albums, local music scenes, and subcultures. Learn about musical form, instruments, and the workings of the music industry and research the social, political, and economic context of different musical genres.
The resource includes access to:
• The 14-volume Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World
• 120 book series, providing in-depth analysis of influential albums
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Biography in Context includes over 700,000 biographical entries covering more than 400,000 notable international figures from all time periods and areas of study.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
The most exhaustive background source for art research. Encyclopedias, dictionaries, the Grove Dictionary of Art and several other resources. Includes extensive image archives from several major North American museums. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference contains full text dictionaries and encyclopedias from the Oxford University Press. It is easy to search and contains entries on a wide array of topics from business, computing and environmental science to art, biology, literature, religion, and political science.