Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use this guide as a starting place for your research on International Economics topics.
Feel free to call or email for a personal consultation with the Librarian on your topic.
International Econ sources
Palgrave's Dictionary of Economics Online
Need help choosing research topics?
Dying to calculate the price elasticity of demand?
Can't remember what heteroscedasticity means?
It's all here...
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics Online This link opens in a new window
Palgraves is the premier subject encyclopedia for the field. You will find it useful for getting definitive explanations of economic concepts, browsing for research paper topic selection, and locating additional sources for further reading from the article bibliographies. Covers all aspects of the field, including micro and macroeconomics, economic history, econometrics, international, urban, financial, monetary, public, and theoretical economics.
International Business Encyclopedias
CIA World Factbook
The U.S. government's complete geographical handbook, featuring 268 full-color maps and flags of all nations and geographical entities. Each country profile tracks such demographics as population, ethnicity and literacy rates, as well as political, geographical and economic data. Free web site.
Wiley Encyclopedia of Management (3rd Ed.)
A comprehensive 13 vol. business encyclopedia covering: Accounting, Business Ethics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Human Resource Management, International Management, Management Information Systems, Managerial Economics, Marketing, Operations Management, Organizational Behavior, Strategic Management, Technology and Innovation Management, plus an index. Articles arranged alphabetically within subject volumes; they contain good background information on the listed topic plus a bibliography for further reading
Handbook of International Trade (Wiley)
This volume explores theories, policies, & issues in the field of International Trade. The chapters focus on four important areas: factor proportions theory, trade policy, investment, and new trade theory. Covers such topics as the Heckscher-Ohlin Trade Model and the Stolper-Samuelson Price Link, wages, antidumping, etc.
Handbook of International Trade: Economic and Legal Analyses of Trade Policy and Institutions (Wiley)
This 2nd volume focuses on the economic and legal analysis of international laws and institutions as they impact trade. Addresses central issues including labor, environmental rights, preferential trade agreements, antitrust policy, patent rights, antidumping, trade liberalization, and foreign direct investment.
International Directory of Business Biographies (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Examines the career paths, business achievements, leadership styles, business strategies and industry impact of Fortune 500 and Global 500 corporate leaders, as well as entrepreneurs and other notable businesspeople through in-depth biographical narratives.
International Directory of Company Histories
In-depth (3-4 page) articles on the history and development of thousands of the world's largest and most influential companies. Cumulative chronological treatment, with periodic updates of individual company profiles.
International Encyclopedia Of Communication
This online encyclopedia covers many facets of communication studies including coverage of cutting edge theories, technology, interpersonal communication, intercultural and intergroup communication, business and organizational communication.
International Encyclopedia Of Organizational Studies
Offers a comprehensive overview of many of the major ideas, concepts, terms, and approaches that characterize this diverse field of organization studies. Illustrates the fluidity, dynamism, and innovation that now occur in organization studies-internationally. Examines how organizations are devices for structuring life and lives are structured by organizations. Part of Gale Virtual Reference Library.
International Encyclopedia Of The Social Sciences
Covers scholarship and fields that have emerged and matured since the publication of the original international edition. Highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features new articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences. 9 volumes
Oxford Handbook of International Business
Oxford Handbook of International Business compiles all the literature of the last 40 years. into six major sections, providing comprehensive coverage of the following areas: History and Theory of the Multinational Enterprise, The Political and Regulatory Environment, Strategy and International Management, Managing the MNE Area Studies, Methodological Issues. This book shows the changes and development in the field.
An annual look at the politics, culture, and economies of the world. Browse or search within each annual volume.