Research and Course Guides: COMM 328: Comm of Race, Class and Gender: Background Resources

_

Background Resources provide excellent coverage of Hot Topics that provide a good foundation for understanding many current issues

Reference materials such as encyclopedias and dictionaries are often an excellent starting point for research. They offer reliable background information on many issues and topics.

Biographical Information

Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Biography in Context includes over 700,000 biographical entries covering more than 400,000 notable international figures from all time periods and areas of study.

Background Research

Full-text resources packed with good information on a variety of social topics.

Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
A one-stop source for information on a variety of social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, as well as full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Original, non-partisan reports that are investigated and written by seasoned journalists and authors. Coverage ofsuch topics as health care, criminal justice, political and social trends, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies explore more than 800 timely, in-depth, and objective articles on topics such as politics, government, business, education, and popular culture. It is updated weekly and provides links to a 13-year backfile. Also included are links to news coverage, pros and cons statements, timelines, statistics, etc.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Check out the SUGGESTED TOPICS, especially Social Issues for information on a variety of hot topics.

Online Reference

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Full-text encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Articles, journals, and books published by Wiley across a variety of disciplines.