Bassoon Resources: Web Sites

From the Library of Congress, this collection includes music printed or 'copied in manuscript' in the United States or the colonies through 1820. Contemporary English composers such as Samuel Arnold, Charles Dibdin, and William Shield are well-represented. There are also songs and arias of Mozart, Gluck, Schubert, and other European composers published in English translation.

The core of this presentation consists of "stock" arrangements for bands or small orchestras of popular songs written by African Americans. This collection is from the Library of Congress.

The Alan Lomax collection of Michigan and Wisconsin recordings (AFC 1939/007) documents Irish, Italian, Finnish, Serbian, Lithuanian, Polish, German, Croatian, French Canadian, Hungarian, Romanian, and Swedish songs and stories, as well as occupational folklife among loggers and lake sailors in Michigan and Wisconsin. This collection is from the Library of Congress.

The multi-format Aaron Copland Collection, from the Library of Congress, spans the years 1910 to 1990 and includes manuscript and printed music, personal and business correspondence, diaries, writings, scrapbooks, photographs, and more documenting the multifaceted life of an extraordinary person.

Contains 4291 song sheets. Included among these American songs are ninety-seven British song sheets from Dublin and London. The collection spans the period from the turn of the nineteenth century to the 1880s.

American Choral Music is a collaboration between the Library of Congress and the Choral Directors Association (ACDA). The seventy-six works presented here are limited to a period beginning shortly after the Civil War and ending at 1922. The music selected reflects the diversity of choral music in the collections written during the later nineteenth and early-twentieth centuries and includes accompanied music, a cappella, sacred and secular music, and works for mixed choirs, for women's and men's ensembles, and for children's choruses.

From the Library of Congress, an online presentation of an ethnographic field collection documenting religious and secular music of Spanish-speaking residents of rural Northern New Mexico and Southern Colorado.

MUSAIC is an online community of classical musicians and continuously updated video library curated by America’s Orchestral Academy.

California Gold comprises 35 hours of folk music recorded in 12 languages representing numerous ethnic groups and 185 musicians. It includes sound recordings, still photographs of the performers, drawings of folk instruments, and written documentation from a variety of European ethnic and English- and Spanish-speaking communities in northern California in the 1930s.

Folkstreams is a non-profit dedicated to finding, preserving, contextualizing, and showcasing documentary films on American traditional cultures.

The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge.

The British Double Reed Society is a not-for-profit organization established to further the interests of all involved with double-reed instruments.

The International Double Reed Society (IDRS) is a member-based organization made up of professional double reed players, students, amateurs, instructors, and more. The IDRS was established to encourage the improvement of instruments, reeds, and related materials, act as a resource for performers, and encourage the performance of double reed literature.

A list of all available fingering charts for Heckel-model (German) bassoons.

The Orchestral Bassoon, a digital resource that focuses on the history, performance, and pedagogy of the bassoon's most prominent orchestral excerpts.