Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Text & Context
Use the sources below for researching the broader context of your chosen speech
Selected Article Databases
Find articles from both scholarly and popular publications in the following databases:
Academic Search Premier
A good place to start your research, Academic Search Premier provides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Access to full-text available through UST subscription resources. Click "Get it@UST Libraries." to get free full-text.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Communication and Mass Media Complete is an essential research tool in areas related to communications and mass media. It is also useful for literacy or ESL research in the field of education.
America: History & Life (EBSCO)
America History and Life is comprehensive index of journals articles, book reviews, and dissertations related to the history and culture of the United States and Canada from 1450 - present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
JSTOR provides access to ebooks and scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and the social sciences.
ProQuest US Newsstream, including Star Tribune
US Newsstream enables users to search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, along with national and regional news sources including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Star Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, and Chicago Tribune.
Proquest Historical Newspapers
Combined search of historical newspapers including: New York Times, Washington Post, Irish Times, The Guardian and Observer, Chicago Defender and Pittsburgh Courier.
Access World News
This database contains electronic editions of thousands of local, national and international newspapers, along with broadcast transcripts and college and university news. It also includes the St. Paul Pioneer Press and the Star Tribune.
Comprehensive collection of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press. All articles are full-text. Updated quarterly. 1990- .