Domestic Abuse, Child Custody, and Visitation by Toby G. Kleinman; Daniel PollackWhen domestic abuse and children are involved, divorce and custody can be the epitome of high-stakes conflict and frustration and all too frequently protective parents lose custody of their child to a named abuser. Domestic Abuse, Child Custody, and Visitation helps mental healthprofessionals, attorneys, and lay readers navigate the judicial process so that decisions are truly made in the best interest of children. The text reveals how all the puzzle pieces of the judicial process fit together - judges, attorneys, mental health experts, children, spouses - and how toovercome many of the obstacles they will confront along the way. This runs the gamut, from the selelection of a lawyer and experts, to setting necessary groundwork for an appeal. Domestic Abuse, Child Custody, and Visitation is an essential read for mental health professionals and lay peopleinvolved in divorce and custody, family court judges, family law attorneys, and mental health professionals involved in domestic abuse and custody matters.
Call Number: Main Collection: KF8968.7 .H36 2009 and e-book
Publication Date: 2009
The Impact of Domestic Violence on Your Legal Practice by Margaret B. Drew; American Bar Association, Commission on Domestic Violence Staff (Contribution by)Introduction -- Domestic violence and firearms: a lethal connection -- Ethical issues in domestic violence law -- Immigration law and domestic violence -- The child welfare system and domestic violence -- Understanding elder abuse and working with older victims -- The military and domestic violence -- Native American clients, tribal courts, and domestic violence -- Domestic violence on college campuses -- Economic coercion and survivor-centered economic advocacy -- Credit discrimination and predatory lending -- Debt, defense and safety considerations for survivors -- Bankruptcy law and domestic violence -- Tax law and domestic violence -- Domestic violence issues in wills, trusts, and estates -- Tort law and domestic violence -- Public benefits and domestic violence -- and more
Call Number: Main Collection: KF337.5.A27 I56 2018
Publication Date: 2018-01-01
Prosecuting Domestic Violence : A Philosophical Analysis by Michelle Madden DempseyWhat should public prosecutors do when victims withdraw support for domestic violence prosecutions? The answer to this question that motivates the investigation undertaken in this book defends the claim that (other things being equal) domestic violence prosecutors should respond as feminists. This claim is intended as a provocative formulation of the proposition that domestic violence prosecutors should act for reasons generated by the value of reconstituting communities as less patriarchal. This thesis is defended first by developing a general theory of prosecutorial practical reasoning, and then by considering the prosecution of domestic violence offences in particular. Along the way, this book provides an original account of the nature of prosecutorial action, the values that can be realized through such action, and the relationship between these values and the practical reasoning of criminal prosecutors. Moreover, it provides original analyses of two key concepts, domestic violence and patriarchy, and explains the relevance of the latter to a proper understanding of the former. These insights are put to work in answering the motivating question stated above, and provide answers both in terms of what prosecutors would be justified in doing, and what prosecutors should do in order to be effective.
Call Number: Main Collection: KF9322 .D46 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Victim Advocacy in the Courtroom by Mary Lay Schuster; Amy D. PropenThis volume examines sentencing hearings in criminal court and the presentation of victim impact statements, as well as child protection cases in juvenile court and the recommendations of guardians ad litem (GALS). Through interviews, observations, and textual analysis, all deeply grounded in an innovative court watch program, the authors illuminate the most effective persuasive practices of victim advocates and GALS as they help protect the rights and needs of victims of domestic violence, sexual assault, and child abuse. Mary Lay Schuster and Amy D. Propen offer nuanced interpretations of these strategies in the courtroom setting and provide an understanding of how to develop successful advocacy for vulnerable parties in the legal arena.
Call Number: Main Collection: KF505 .S328 2011
Publication Date: 2011-07-12
Books and Treatises
Abetting Batterers by Andrew R. Klein; Jessica L. KleinWhatever the number, domestic violence victims remain far too many for a preventable crime. More and more victims of intimate partner violence are reaching out to police, prosecutors and judges only to be sorely disappointed, even betrayed. While laws and programs have multiplied over the last few decades to address domestic violence, the country is getting safer for almost everyone except for women who have, or have had, abusive male intimate partners. Andrew R. Klein and Jessica L. Klein look at the criminal justice response to domestic violence across America today, ranging from police to prosecutors and courtrooms across the nation. Abetting Batterers reveals the troubling pattern of inattention and incompetence that compromises the safety of women and encourages their male abusers to continue their abuse and violence. Although criminal justice system agencies vary among cities, towns and counties within the same state they all too often relegate domestic violence to the backburners of the system, dismissing victims and ignoring even the most serious and chronic abusers. The variation reveals the real problem in preventing intimate partner violence lies in these agencies' commitment and will, rather than their ability to do the job. The authors unveil what is working in regard to protecting victims of domestic violence and holding their abusers accountable, and they suggest strategies for ensuring that what is being done right can be replicated and become the law and practice across the nation. The wide variation in how intimate partner violence is handled by similar jurisdictions demonstrates the real problem in preventing it lies in these agencies' commitment, rather than ability to do the job. This book proves to be invaluable in understanding what is and is not being done in the reality of domestic violence in America.
Call Number: Main Collection: HV6626.2 .K5947 2016
Publication Date: 2016-07-08
At Home in the Law by Jeannie SukIn the past forty years, the idea of home, which is central to how the law conceives of crime, punishment, and privacy, has changed radically. Legal scholar Jeannie Suk shows how the legitimate goal of legal feminists to protect women from domestic abuse has led to a new and unexpected set of legal practices. Suk examines case studies of major legal developments in contemporary American law pertaining to domestic violence, self-defense, privacy, sexual autonomy, and property in order to illuminate the changing relation between home and the law. She argues that the growing legal vision that has led to the breakdown of traditional boundaries between public and private space is resulting in a substantial reduction of autonomy and privacy for both women and men.
Call Number: Main Collection: KF9322 .S85 2009 and e-book
Publication Date: 2009-10-27
Domestic Violence by Louise Gerdes (Contrubitor)Editor Louise I. Gerdes has thoughtful collected a series of essays that tackle the tough topic of domestic violence. Essays are sequence in a pro versus con format so that readers are presented with more than one intelligent viewpoint on every issue. Across four chapters, readers will evaluate the seriousness of domestic violence, what factors cause it, whether teen dating violence is a serious problem, and whether economic downturns amplify problems that can lead to domestic violence. Essay sources include the National Coalition for Child Protection Reform, American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, Information Week, and the National Child Abuse Coalition.
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2012
Domestic Violence by Mike Wilsonch. 1. Is domestic violence a serious problem? -- Chapter preface -- 1. Domestic violence has been a problem throughout U.S. history / Cathy Young -- 2. The incidence of domestic violence is exaggerated / Phyllis Schlafly -- 3. Sibling abuse is a serious domestic violence problem / Mark S. Kiselica and Mandy Morrill-Richards -- 4. Same-sex domestic violence is a serious problem / Tod W. Burke and Stephen S. Owen -- 5. Domestic violence harms children / UNICEF -- 6. Domestic violence is a problem for college students / Peggy O'Hare -- 7. Domestic violence is a problem for the elderly / Denise A. Hines and Kathleen Malley-Morrison -- Periodical bibliography -- and more
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2009
Domestic Violence and International Law by Bonita MeyersfeldDomestic Violence and International Law argues that certain forms of domestic violence are a violation of international human rights law. The argument is based on the international law principle that, where a state fails to protect a vulnerable group of people from harm, whether perpetrated by the state or private actors, it has breached its obligations to protect against human rights violation. This book provides a comprehensive legal analysis for why a state should be accountable in international law for allowing women to suffer extreme forms of domestic violence and how this can help individual victims. It is irrelevant that the violence is perpetrated by individuals and not state actors such as soldiers or the police. The state's breach of its responsibility is in its failure to act effectively in domestic violence cases; and in its silent endorsement of the violence, it becomes complicit. The book seeks to reformulate academic and political debate on domestic violence and the responsibility of states under international law. It is based on empirical data combined with an honest assessment of whether or not domestic violence is recognised by the international community as a human rights violation. 'Domestic Violence in International Law [...] provides an original, provocative, and much needed legal framework for the coherent development of a norm against domestic violence in international human rights law...Dr. Meyersfeld has developed a thoroughgoing analysis that asks and answers the most difficult questions often neglected by academics, lawyers and activists who dismiss the possibility that systemic violence against women could violate international law...Most fundamentally, this book is memorable for the hope and optimism it expresses about the transformative possibilities of international law. For without compromising such intensely human values as privacy, autonomy and cultural identity, Dr. Meyersfeld moves her reader with an abiding conviction: that international law, fueled with the power of transnational actors, can propel public actors to protect abused and vulnerable people in their most private worlds.' From the Foreword by Harold Koh, The Legal Adviser, United States Department of State (2009-).
Call Number: Main Collection: K5190 .M49 2010 and e-book
Publication Date: 2010-03-23
Equality with a Vengeance by Molly DragiewiczThis book investigates efforts by fathers' rights groups to undermine battered women's shelters and services, in the context of the backlash against feminism. Dragiewicz examines the lawsuit Booth v. Hvass, in which fathers' rights groups attempted to use an Equal Protection claim to argue that funding emergency services that target battered women is discriminatory against men. As Dragiewicz shows, this case (which was eventually dismissed) is relevant to widespread efforts to promote a degendered understanding of violence against women in order to eradicate policies and programs that were designed to ameliorate harm to battered women.
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Tackling Domestic Violence by Jill Radford; Lynne HarneThis accessible text takes a multi-disciplinary approach to exploring issues surrounding domestic violence. It draws on contemporary research findings, policy developments, innovative practice and case studies to explore new directions in professional and voluntary sector responses to domestic violence.
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2008
A Troubled Marriage by Leigh GoodmarkChoice's Outstanding Academic Title list for 2013 The development of a legal regime to combat domestic violence in the United States has been lauded as one of the feminist movement's greatest triumphs. But, Leigh Goodmark argues, the resulting system is deeply flawed in ways that prevent it from assisting many women subjected to abuse. The current legal response to domestic violence is excessively focused on physical violence; this narrow definition of abuse fails to provide protection from behaviors that are profoundly damaging, including psychological, economic, and reproductive abuse. The system uses mandatory policies that deny women subjected to abuse autonomy and agency, substituting the state's priorities for women's goals. A Troubled Marriage is a provocative exploration of how the legal system's response to domestic violence developed, why that response is flawed, and what we should do to change it. Goodmark argues for an anti-essentialist system, which would define abuse and allocate power in a manner attentive to the experiences, goals, needs and priorities of individual women. Theoretically rich yet conversational, A Troubled Marriage imagines a legal system based on anti-essentialist principles and suggests ways to look beyond the system to help women find justice and economic stability, engage men in the struggle to end abuse, and develop community accountability for abuse. Choice's Outstanding Academic Title list for 2013 The development of a legal regime to combat domestic violence in the United States has been lauded as one of the feminist movement's greatest triumphs. But, Leigh Goodmark argues, the resulting system is deeply flawed in ways that prevent it from assisting many women subjected to abuse. The current legal response to domestic violence is excessively focused on physical violence; this narrow definition of abuse fails to provide protection from behaviors that are profoundly damaging, including psychological, economic, and reproductive abuse. The system uses mandatory policies that deny women subjected to abuse autonomy and agency, substituting the state's priorities for women's goals. A Troubled Marriage is a provocative exploration of how the legal system's response to domestic violence developed, why that response is flawed, and what we should do to change it. Goodmark argues for an anti-essentialist system, which would define abuse and allocate power in a manner attentive to the experiences, goals, needs and priorities of individual women. Theoretically rich yet conversational, A Troubled Marriage imagines a legal system based on anti-essentialist principles and suggests ways to look beyond the system to help women find justice and economic stability, engage men in the struggle to end abuse, and develop community accountability for abuse.
Call Number: Main Collection: KF9322 .G65 2012
Publication Date: 2011-12-01
The War Against Domestic Violence by Lee E. Ross (Editor)Violence, including intimate partner violence, is a leading cause of death, disability, and hospitalization in the United States and other regions worldwide. Despite growing awareness, the numbers of reported and unreported incidents continue to rise. Drawing on the contributions of criminal justice practitioners and academic theorists who bring sober insight to a highly charged issue, The War Against Domestic Violenceoffers a comprehensive, interdisciplinary study of this phenomenon. Topics include: Domestic violence in Caucasian, Latino, African-American, Asian, Native American, and Sub-Saharan African cultures Child abuse and the response of child welfare agencies The connection between domestic violence and homelessness and drug abuse Domestic violence in gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender persons Spousal violence among police officers The history of domestic violence policy Orders of protection Prosecuting and defending those charged with domestic violence Court-ordered treatment and community supervision of domestic violence offenders Creating campaigns for domestic violence prevention The book provides rare glimpses of topics inadequately covered in the literature, allowing readers to understand and appreciate the complexity of domestic violence while also promoting a variety of effective strategies to combat its continued rise. The multi-layered approach of this volume and the input from the expert contributors from varied backgrounds are destined to stimulate the interest of a growing and diverse audience. Lee Ross recently appeared on UCF Profiles to discuss why some break the law and others with similar backgrounds do not.