LibrarySearch is the library catalog of six private colleges and universities in the Twin Cities, including Saint Thomas. Books from other campuses can be requested online and delivered to the St. Thomas library of your choice..
Searching by the following subject keywords or subject headings will help you find relevant resources:
Current Issues in Constitutional Litigation by
Current Issues in Constitutional Litigation by Sarah E. Ricks, with contributions by Evelyn M. Tenenbaum, focuses on the constitutional and statutory doctrines necessary to litigate 4th, 8th, and 14th Amendment claims, and 1st Amendment religion claims that arise in prison. Every chapter places students in roles as practitioners handling simulated law practice problems; provides a doctrinal overview; includes exercises, visual aids, and questions to guide student reading; and includes materials that help students reflect on their professional roles. In addition to Supreme Court decisions, materials include differing circuit court applications of doctrine, jury instructions, oral arguments, briefs, expert reports, and other practical documents. The text provides factual context by including background about the work of prison guards, police, and social workers.
Current Issues in Constitutional Litigation could be used for 2, 3, or 4-credit course or for a Section 1983 constitutional clinic.
The Teacher¿s Manual includes banks of multiple-choice and essay questions and answers and teaching guides for exercises and law practice simulations. This casebook is designed to make it easier to implement the ideas in the Carnegie Foundation¿s Educating Lawyers (2007) and Best Practices for Legal Education (2007) by integrating the teaching of doctrine and skills and using multiple methods of instruction.
Evelyn Tenenbaum, Albany Law School, contributed chapters on the 11th Amendment and 1st Amendment religion issues that arise in prison.
The Teacher's Manual includes banks of multiple-choice and essay questions and answers and teaching guides for exercises and law practice simulations.
This book is part of the Context and Practice Series, edited by Michael Hunter Schwartz, Professor of Law and Dean of the University of Arkansas at Little Rock Bowen School of Law.
Modern Trial Advocacy by
Modern Trial Advocacy presents a realistic and contemporary approach to learning and developing trial advocacy skills. This book offers a sophisticated theory-driven approach to advocacy training that distinguishes it from other books in the field. In addition to the valuable sections on uses of theory, theme, and story frame; the persuasive value of inferences and cognitive theory; and discussion of witness "credibility variables," explaining how to bolster or undermine testimony. The Fifth Edition includes: * a brand new chapter on using electronic visuals and technology in the courtroom; and * new enhanced video content-top NITA faculty demonstrate the core techniques discussed in the book so you can observe and learn these skills in a new way.
Trial Techniques and Trials by
Buy a new version of this textbook and receive access to the Connected eBook with Study Center on CasebookConnect, including: lifetime access to the online ebook with highlight, annotation, and search capabilities; practice questions from your favorite study aids; an outline tool and other helpful resources. Connected eBooks provide what you need most to be successful in your law school classes. Learn more about Connected eBooks By far the most thorough and detailed of the books in the field, Trial Techniques and Trials is a comprehensive yet concise handbook that covers all aspects of the trial process and provides excellent examples illustrating strategies for opening statements, jury selection, direct- and cross-examination, exhibits, objections, and more. Extensive examples are clustered into three groups: personal injury, commercial, and criminal for ease in finding particular areas of trial practice. Tom Mauet and Steve Easton, renowned for their skills both as writers and trial attorneys, break the trial process down into its critical components for better and quicker comprehension by students and practicing attorneys who have little or no trial experience. New to the Eleventh Edition: Updates regarding recent amendments to the Federal Rules of Evidence Additional emphasis on presenting evidence and argument visually, not just orally, for modern juries Coverage of additional aspects of trial including site visits and foundation battles over emails and other electronic communications Professors and students will benefit from: Integrated discussion of the strategy and psychology of persuasion--particularly regarding jury selection, opening statements, and closing arguments Numerous illustrations from tort cases, criminal cases, and commercial trials Broad and flexible examples that allow readers to focus on either the plaintiff's or the defendant's side of the case--or both Logical organization that follows the chronology of a trial process A companion website with additional examples, a trial notebook, and other tools for trial lawyers Video lectures about critical trial moments Video demonstrations of effective trial advocacy, including a complete jury trial Extensive supplemental materials available on the book's Connected Casebook resource page
Routledge Handbook of Law and Terrorism by
In the years since 9/11, counter-terrorism law and policy has proliferated across the world. This handbook comprehensively surveys how the law has been deployed in all aspects of counter-terrorism. It provides an authoritative and critical analysis of counter-terrorism laws in domestic jurisdictions, taking a comparative approach to a range of jurisdictions, especially the UK, the US, Australia, Canada, and Europe. The contributions to the book are written by experts in the field of terrorism law and policy, allowing for discussion of a wide range of regulatory responses and strategies of governance. The book is divided into four parts, reflective of established counter-terrorism strategic approaches, and covers key themes such as: Policing and special powers, including surveillance Criminal offences and court processes Prevention of radicalisation and manifestations of extremism Protective/preparative security The penology of terrorism In addressing counter-terrorism laws across a broad range of topics and jurisdictions, the handbook will be of great interest and use to researchers, students and practitioners in criminal law, counter-terrorism, and security studies.