Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Criminal Justice Databases
These databases are the ones you should use to start your search for research articles.
Criminal Justice Abstracts Full-text
Criminal Justice Abstracts provides comprehensive coverage of international journals, books, reports, dissertations and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines. Check out the tutorial
to learn how to use it!
SocINDEX with Full Text
Articles on sociology, but also specifically on policing, law enforcement, community, prisons and jails. Use the thesaurus to help you choose good search terms.
Lexis-Nexis Legal Research
Search full text federal, state & international legal materials including case law, statutes and regulations, legal news and law reviews. Click on the center box Look up a Legal Case.
HeinOnline Law Journal Library
HeinOnline is a collection of resources ranging from law review articles to a wide range of foreign and domestic legal documents. Highlights include the Law Journals Library (American law review articles from the inception of the journal), Federal Register Library (vol. 1, 1936 - current), U.S. Supreme Court Library, full-text Restatements, treaty collections, and legislative history documents.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts
The National Criminal Justice Reference Service Database contains summaries of the more than 200,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Library collection. This database is sponsored by several departments within the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice, and the Office of National Drug Control Policy and includes information on resources published by these agencies.
Other Research Databases
ERIC is not only the database for education, but a whole lot more. Articles on leadership, organizations, management, and human resources are also here!
Emerald contains peer-reviewed articles from 175 management journals, and it is especially strong in management and human resources topics.
Academic Search Premier
Articles on all areas of study. When you're lost, come here.
Search Journal Titles
Find journals and newspapers subscribed to by St. Thomas. Enter all or the beginning of the title (e.g., New York Times or Harvard).