Public Safety & Law Enforcement Leadership: Research Methods

Criminal Justice Abstracts provides comprehensive coverage of international journals, books, reports, dissertations and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines. This version provides full-text for approximately 200 criminal justice journals.

The National Criminal Justice Reference Service Database contains summaries of the more than 200,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Library collection. This database is sponsored by several departments within the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice, and the Office of National Drug Control Policy and includes information on resources published by these agencies.

SocINDEX with Full Text identifies resources in the field of sociology and related subject areas. It indexes over 3000 journals and provides full text for 890 journals, several dating back to 1908. It also includes full text for over 850 books and monographs, as well as over 16,800 conference reports. It also includes a thesaurus of sociological terms.

Start here when you need to find research in psychology. Which areas of psychology? Just about all of them. PsycINFO covers mental health, counseling, cognitive science, neuroscience, education, learning, family studies and language. Provides full-text access (back to the first issue) of the journals published by the American Psychological Association, as well as other association journals and many books and book chapters.

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) provides full-text research on a wide range of education topics. Includes peer-reviewed journals, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, and much more.

Covers a wide range of education topics from early childhood to higher ed as well as educational specialties like adult education, multilingual education, and more. Includes peer-reviewed journal articles, conference papers, books, and more.

Emerald contains peer-reviewed articles from 175 management journals, and it is especially strong in management topics such as human resource management, operations management, and library and information management.Emerald also contains articles that focus on marketing,finance, information technology, and international company and industry information.