Research and Course Guides: MUSC 133 Music of the United States: Oral and Written Traditions: Finding Articles

GET IT

Click the GET IT buttons within any of our databases to get the full text of the article (if available). We don't own every e-journal, but those that we do own will be available through the GET IT button. Those that aren't available can be requested through ILLiad.

Watch this video for more info.

Search Journal Titles

See if UST subscribes to a particular journal
Enter all or beginning of the title

Or - browse by subject:

Finding Articles

Music Index This link opens in a new window
Covering all styles and genres of popular and classical music, Music Index indexes nearly 800 music periodicals from around the world from 1972 to the present; some titles are indexed starting in 1970. Includes citations to book reviews, obituaries, dissertations, and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry. Includes links to full text articles in JSTOR and EBSCO Host. For access to citations from 1949-1972, consult the print version (OSF REF ML 118 .M973).
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale (RILM) publishes a comprehensive bibliography of writings on music serving the global music research community. Today RILM abstracts of music literature has over 950,000 records in 143 languages from 178 countries. It covers Western classical music, ethnomusicology, popular music, and jazz, and music-related content from associated disciplines such as, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art history, dance, drama, literature, pedagogy, and more).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access ebooks and scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and the social sciences. Journal content is often not available until 1+ years after publication.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides online access to a large selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals and ebooks.
America: History & Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
America History and Life is comprehensive index of journals articles, book reviews, and dissertations related to the history and culture of the United States and Canada from 1450 - present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A good place to start your research, Academic Search Premier provides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press. All articles are full-text. Updated quarterly. 1990- .
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles and bibliographic citations to books and dissertations on the history of the world (except for) the U.S. and Canada from 1450 to the present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.

Library Liaison

Cindy Badilla-Melendez

Email Me

Contact:

Head of the Music and Media Collections
OSF Library 104 B

Subjects:
Media, Music, Modern and Classical Languages, Films Studies, Videos.
For Videos Resources any Subject area.

651-962-5464

Subjects: Film, Languages, Music

Off-Campus Access

With very few exceptions, UST Libraries resources are available from off-campus. You will be asked to enter your UST username/password. This is the username you use for your UST email, not your Banner ID.