Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Mimi Metallurgico Ferito Nell' Onore
La ragazza del lago
Call Number: PT8951.16.O735 R3 2010
When a beautiful young girl is found murdered in an idyllic northern Italy village, Inspector Giovanni Sanzio is called in from the capital to investigate. But in a small town where nobody is what they seem, anyone could be capable of homicide and everyone may be hiding a dark secret... including Inspector Sanzio.
L'ora di Religione
Call Number: PN1997.O725 2006
A portrait of an artist who is forced to reconcile with his own atheism after receiving a shocking appeal from the Church requesting his participation in the canonization of his "saintly" mother. If she is to be ordained, the Church must prove that her violent death, at the hands of the most unlikely person, culminated with a vow of forgiveness for her murderer. Ernesto's relationship to the murderer provides the Church with its last chance of uncovering the truth, but he is reluctant to succumb to his family's pressure and schemes to make him take part in the beatification. Overwhelmed by the fact that he didn't sense the conspiracy beneath him, Ernesto is set adrift on a surreal odyssey. His memory of his mother (especially her smile) opens up a gaping chasm that forces him to reconsider the past and live the present differently.
La Meglio Gioventù
Call Number: PN1997 .M44 2006
A family saga set in Rome from 1966 through 2003 that details the lives of two brothers, Nicola and Matteo Carati, who go their separate ways after attempting to rescue a young girl, Giorgia from an abusive sanitarium. Set against the backdrop of contemporary Italian history, the film follows the characters through such major historical incidents as the flooding of Florence in 1966, the terrorist activities of the Red Brigades, mental asylum reforms, the student protests of 1968, Italy's elimination from the 1966 World Cup at the hands of Korea and its subsequent victory in 1982, and Tangentopoli and the consequent death of anti-mob judge Giovanni Falcone.
Films on Demand
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary database of streaming videos (electronic videos) from Films Media Group. It provides academic videos in the subject areas of psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more. Now it covers foreign films under the World Cinema Collection.
The World Cinema Collection includes more than 350 movies from directors across the globe, it includes the silent era, American and European films from the mid-20th century, and award-winning contemporary films featured by Global Lens. The collection is subdivided by regions among then: German Cinema, French Cinema, Italian Cinema, Latin American Cinema, Chinese-language Cinema, Turkish and Middle Eastern Cinema, and more.
Italy's Countryside: 2000-2009
Call Number: DG430.2 .I86 2009 In English
Cinque Terre: Italy's Hidden Riviera: In these five idyllic port towns, Rick samples village life: fishing for anchovies at midnight, savoring the best pesto, picking grapes, and strolling the "walkway of love." Rick side-trips to Carrara's quarries, where Michelangelo got his marble.
Siena and Assisi: Italy's Grand Hill Towns: In red-bricked Siena, Rick tours the town's innovative medieval hospital and lavish cathedral. Exploring the Chianti region, Rick sips Brunello di Montalcino--with its makers. In Assisi, he follows the footsteps of St. Francis.
Tuscany's Dolce Vita: The villages and countryside of Tuscany give Rick a healthy dose of the "sweet life" as he hunts for truffles in a forest, nibbles through an artichoke festival, shares a farmhouse feast, and rides a classic convertible through the cypress groves of Mona Lisa's back yard.
Italy's Great Hill Towns: Italy's quintessential charms survive in its classic hill towns. From San Gimignano's medieval towers, to Cortona's charming lanes, to Orvieto's papal intrigue, to Civita di Bagnoregio's cliff-hanging vistas... all sit on lofty stone perches that seem to protect them from the modern world.
Italy's Amalfi Coast: Just south of Naples Rick experiences the breath-taking Amalfi Coastline, the trendy resort of Positano, the limoncello charms of Sorrento, the ancient Greek temples at Paestum, and the iridescent Blue Grotto hidden beneath the enchanting isle of Capri.
The Best of Sicily: After going fishing with El Presidente off Cefalu, Rick lands in rough-and-tumble Palermo. Marveling at the eerie skeletons in a Cappuccin crypt, airy mosaics of Monreale, enchanting ruins of Segesta, and the fiery rim of Mount Etna, he enjoys the best of Sicily.
Italy's Cities: 2000-2009
Call Number: DG430.2 .I85 2009 In English
Venice: Serene, Decadent and Still Kicking: Sorting through the monuments of magical Venice, Rick drinks in the art of Titian, Bellini, Donatello, and the Doge's Palace. He luxuriates in a venerable cafe on St. Mark's Square, and enjoys calamari with locals in a canal-side pub.
Venice Side-Trips: The Best of Veneto: Pulling on hip boots, Rick settles into the muck of the Venetian lagoon. Back on the mainland, he checks out a chapel restoration in Padova, Palladian-style streets and villas in Vicenza, romance in Verona, and dazzling mosaics in Ravenna.
Milan and Lake Como: In Milan Rick takes a peek at Italy's highest fashion, fanciest delis, grandest cemetery and greatest opera house... and Leonardo's The Last Supper. Then he cruises along Lake Como, settling down in the lakeside village of Varenna, where Italy meets the Alps.
Florence: City of Art: Rick looks into the eyes of Michelangelo's David, learns tricks for touring the Uffizi art gallery, and climbs the amazing cathedral dome that kicked off the Renaissance. Then he chases the sunset on a Vespa, and sleeps serenely in a converted monastery.
Caesar's Rome: Rome welcomes the new millennium spiffed up as never before. Rick tours Rome's ancient sights from the Forum and Colosseum to the glorious Pantheon. Then, after hiking the Appian Way and exploring the catacombs, he tracks down the best gelato in Rome.
Rome: Baroque, After Dark: After a pilgrimage to Michelangelo's Pieta, Rick climbs to the top of St. Peter's Basilica. At the Borghese Gallery, he vies exquisite sculptures by the master of marble, Bernini. Then he takes an after-dark stroll, lacing together Rome's Baroque and bubbly nightspots.
Naples and Pompeii: Naples is Italy in the extreme. Rick prowls backstreet fish markets, dodges fast-moving Vespas, and dines on pizza where it was invented. He climbs to the top of Mount Vesuvius, then wanders through the amazing ruins of Pompeii, the Roman town it destroyed.
Rick Steves’ Europe: The Best of Sicily
Music & Media Collections