Qualitative Research Methods: Finding Articles

In UST databases, you will sometimes see the full text of articles readily available. Other times, you'll have to click on the "Get It" button to be directed to the full text. 

This feature checks all of the databases and will list a print or electronic copy, and will provide links where available. 

If the Saint Thomas Library does not own an article or book you need for your research, use the Interlibrary Loan option to have the materials delivered to you digitally. You can also request physical books and pick them up at the library of your choice. This service is completely free to you!

Google Scholar is a search engine from google that can connect to UST databases to bring you the full text of articles through the "Get It" button. Google Scholar broadly searches scholarly literature but can also include popular sources, predatory journals, and poor quality materials. Use Google Scholar to supplement your searches and utilize it's flexible search algorithms. 

If you're using Google Scholar from off campus, set up your Library Links. Search for University of Saint Thomas (MN) - GET IT @UST Libraries and select it as an additional option. 

When searching in databases, use keywords that capture the essential ideas of your research topic. Narrowing down your topic into specific key concepts will help retrieve relevant sources. Here are some keywords tips: 

• A search like 'The impact of gender on people's salary' will retrieve fewer results because the database will look at all the words as separate concepts. Instead, break your topics into the key concepts: gender AND salary
• Brainstorm keywords with similar meanings to concepts. For example, salary could also be wages, page, income, or earnings. 
• Search for all of these terms together separated by OR. For example, pay OR wages OR income OR earnings tells the database to find all of these terms in your search results. 

All databases related to education can be found on the A-Z Databases page, but feel free to start with one of these "Best Bets":