Research and Course Guides: SOCI 210--Research Methods: Digital News

The Atlantic

THEATLANTIC.COM ACCESS

You can access The Atlantic for free by visiting the site via the link below.

Search for "University of St. Thomas" and then log in with your UST email and password.

Atlantic, The (Digital)

Unlimited access includes The Atlantic Archive going back to 1857.

First-time users: From the institutional login page, select University of St. Thomas to create a new account.
On subsequent visits, access The Atlantic directly at theatlantic.com.

New York Times

NYTIMES.COM ACCESS

You can access The New York Times for free by visiting the site via the link below.

Please note: If you have a current personal subscription to The New York Times, you will need to cancel that subscription before you can add the subscription provided by St Thomas.

New York Times (digital)
Direct access to nytimes.com paid for by St. Thomas.

First-time users: Create a free account using your St. Thomas email address. Existing paid New York Times subscribers must cancel their subscription before authenticating via the school-funded program.
Includes access to The New York Times in Education (separate registration required), TimesMachine, The Athletic (separate registration required), NYT podcasts, mobile apps, and more. Does not include Cooking, Wirecutter, or Games.
Once registered, students will have access until 12/31 of their graduation year. Faculty/staff will have 4 years of full account access, after which they must re-authenticate by visiting accessnyt.com.

Click on the “Create Account” bar to set up an individual account using your St Thomas email and any password. After your individual account is created, you can go directly to the New York Times (nytimes.com) without going through our account and sign in with your new account.

Minnesota Star Tribune

STAR TRIBUNE ACCESS

You can access Star Tribune for free by accessing the site via the link below or setting up an account.

Star Tribune (digital)
Digital access to startribune.com, including the eEdition replica of the daily print newspaper.
To register an individual account (needed for access to mobile and tablet apps), use the group subscription activation link and sign up using your stthomas.edu email address.

The Chronicle

CHRONICLE.COM ACCESS

You can access The Chronicle of Higher Education for free by visiting the site via the link below.

Chronicle of Higher Education

The No. 1 news source for college and university faculty and administrators. Online version is updated continuously. Includes facts, opinions, job offers, book reviews, and news from college campuses everywhere. Create a free personal account to receive email newsletters, job alerts, etc.

The Financial Times

FT.COM ACCESS

You can access The Financial Times for free by setting up an account at the site via the link below.

Financial Times (digital)
FT.com is the digital version of The Financial Times, a leading global news source offering in-depth analysis of global markets, economics, and diverse topics like politics, technology, climate change, and much more.
Use your stthomas.edu email address to set up your account for personalized access to content on the FT.com website and mobile apps (ft.com/mobile).
Once registered, sign in to FT.com directly. Use myFT to curate topics that you're interested in, set up email alerts, subscribe to newsletters, and save articles to refer back to later.
Other features include:
- The ePaper, a digital replica of the printed newspaper optimized for offline access
- Portfolio Tool for tracking performance of your holdings and viewing relevant news stories
- FT video and podcasts
The St. Thomas Libraries also offer the Financial Times Historical Archive beginning with the first issue in 1888.
Use your stthomas.edu email address to set up your account for personalized access to content on the FT.com website and mobile apps (ft.com/mobile).
Once registered, sign in to FT.com directly. Use myFT to curate topics that you're interested in, set up email alerts, subscribe to newsletters, and save articles to refer back to later.
Other features include:
- The ePaper, a digital replica of the printed newspaper optimized for offline access
- Portfolio Tool for tracking performance of your holdings and viewing relevant news stories
- FT video and podcasts
The St. Thomas Libraries also offer the Financial Times Historical Archive beginning with the first issue in 1888.

St. Paul Pioneer Press

TWINCITIES.COM ACCESS

You can access The St. Paul Pioneer Press for free by visiting the site via the link below.

St. Paul Pioneer Press (digital)
Direct access to twincities.com paid for by St. Thomas. Includes unlimited access online and a digital archive of the print edition going back to Oct. 2021.

The Wall Street Journal

WSJ.COM ACCESS

You can access The Wall Street Journal for free by visiting the site via the link below.

Wall Street Journal (digital)
Direct access to wsj.com paid for by St. Thomas.

First-time users: Create a free account using your St. Thomas email address.
Access includes news, commentary, podcasts, WSJ+, use of the mobile app, and more.
Students will be prompted to enter their graduation date upon activation. Faculty and staff will receive an email to renew their academic pass every 364 days.

Access includes four years ago to today. Once you create an account, you can access directly at wsj.com or via the mobile apps (Wall Street Journal-WSJ and the WSJ Print Edition).

Help for creating an account:

Select your Account Type (student, staff, or professor)
Enter your first and last name and St. Thomas email address
Create a password
Click Create and follow prompts. You may choose your interestes or skip and continue.
Finally, you will be asked to select your job function, job level, and industry. This question is also optional. Enter your information or click Continue to WSJ.com.

Notes:

Students will be prompted to enter their graduation month and year upon activation. After graduation, students will receive three months of free access to the Wall Street Journal. To extend student access past the graduation date, please contact a librarian.
Faculty and staff will receive an email to renew their academic pass every 364 days.
If you have a current personal subscription to the Wall Street Journal that uses your St. Thomas email address, you will need to cancel that subscription before you can add the subscription provided by St Thomas.

Washington Post

WASHINGTONPOST.COM ACCESS

You can access The Washington Post for free by visiting the site via the link below.

Washington Post (digital)
Direct access to washingtonpost.com paid for by St. Thomas.
For direct access while on campus, proceed to washingtonpost.com (no registration needed).
To access the Washington Post from any location and to use their mobile app, you must create a personal account with your @stthomas.edu email address:
1. Go to https://www.washingtonpost.com/subscribe/signup.
2. Enter your @stthomas.edu email address and click Next.
3. Enter a password of your choice and click Sign up.
4. You will automatically receive an email containing a button to activate your subscription.

SET UP YOUR OWN FREE ACCOUNT

To access the Washington Post from any location and to use their mobile app, you must create a personal account with your @stthomas.edu email address:

Go to https://www.washingtonpost.com/subscribe/signup.
Enter your @stthomas.edu email address and click Next.
Enter a password of your choice and click Sign up.
You will automatically receive an email containing a button to activate your subscription.

The Economist

ECONOMIST.COM ACCESS

You can access The Economist for free by visiting the site via the link below.

Economist, The
University-wide subscription to the digital edition of the esteemed British newsweekly. Includes current and prior coverage back to 1997; see the separate Economist Historical Archive for coverage back to 1843.

Web login via Single Sign On
Enter your stthomas.edu email address on the institutional login page (do not click the blue Log in button). You will automatically be redirected to the St. Thomas Single Sign-On login page if you don't already have an active session.
Mobile App login
Our subscription includes access to Economist podcasts and other digital content available via the Economist mobile apps . To log in, go to Menu > Settings > Log in, and enter your St. Thomas email address when prompted. Note: There is no need to enter a password on the login page--instead, you should automatically be redirected to UST Single Sign-On.

Web login via Single Sign On

Enter your stthomas.edu email address on the institutional login page (do not click the blue Log in button). You will automatically be redirected to the St. Thomas Single Sign-On login page if you don't already have an active session.

Mobile App login

Our subscription includes access to Economist podcasts and other digital content available via the Economist mobile apps . To log in, go to Menu > Settings > Log in, and enter your St. Thomas email address when prompted. Note: There is no need to enter a password on the login page--instead, you should automatically be redirected to UST Single Sign-On.

The Athletic

THEATHLETIC.COM ACCESS

You can access The Athletic for free by visiting the site via the link below.

Please note:

If you have an existing personal account to The Athletic, you must log out before clicking on the link provided by St. Thomas.
The Athletic and The New York Times are separate news sites, but are owned by the same company (The New York Times Company). You will need to activate access and log in separately to each website. Users are encouraged to use their St. Thomas email for each news account for the best user experience.

Athletic, The

The Athletic from the New York Times delivers in-depth sports coverage of your favorite teams and leagues. Access includes everything from breaking news and live commentary to long-form features, exclusive interviews, podcasts, and more.

First-time users: Click the “Activate your free access to the Athletic” link in OneStThomas, then click the “Redeem Gift” button to activate a one-year gift subscription.
If you have a current nytimes.com account associated with your UST email address, you can use the same login credentials to activate access to The Athletic and for logging in directly at theathletic.com after activation.
You will need to renew your access once a year by going to the activation link in OneStThomas.