Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Criminal Justice Databases
These databases are the ones you should use to start your search for research articles.
Criminal Justice Abstracts Full-text
Criminal Justice Abstracts provides comprehensive coverage of international journals, books, reports, dissertations and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines. This version provides full-text for approximately 200 criminal justice journals.
Lexis-Nexis Legal Research
Search full text federal, state & international legal materials including case law, statutes and regulations, legal news and law reviews. Updates and coverage vary.
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text identifies resources in the field of sociology and related subject areas. It indexes over 3000 journals and provides full text for 890 journals, several dating back to 1908. It also includes full text for over 850 books and monographs, as well as over 16,800 conference reports. It also includes a thesaurus of sociological terms.
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books
Index to Legal Periodicals and Books is a bibliographic database consisting of citations from legal periodicals (law reviews, bar association journals, university publications, yearbooks, institutes and government publications) and law books that cover all areas of jurisprudence, including recent court decisions, new legislation, and original scholarship. 1982-present.
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals is a multilingual index that provides in-depth coverage of public and private international law, comparative and foreign law, and the law of all jurisdictions other than the United States, the U.K., Canada, and Australia. Content includes journal articles, congressional reports, essay collections, and book reviews from 1985 to the present.
HeinOnline Law Journal Library
HeinOnline is a collection of resources ranging from law review articles to a wide range of foreign and domestic legal documents. Highlights include the Law Journals Library (American law review articles from the inception of the journal), Federal Register Library (vol. 1, 1936 - current), U.S. Supreme Court Library, full-text Restatements, treaty collections, and legislative history documents.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts
The National Criminal Justice Reference Service Database contains summaries of the more than 200,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Library collection. This database is sponsored by several departments within the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice, and the Office of National Drug Control Policy and includes information on resources published by these agencies.
Other Research Databases
The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database provides information about 1.3 million items related to education, including journal articles, books, conference papers, statistical or research reports and other items. It is THE essential tool for research in education.
Education Full Text
Education Full Text indexes over 770 education journals, as well as some monographs and yearbooks. Over 400 of the journals are peer-reviewed and almost half are available in full text. It also includes several peer-reviewed open access journals. The indexing starts in 1983, and the full text starts in 1996. Approximately 75-100 of the titles are not indexed in ERIC and it is a complementary resource to use with ERIC.
The GeoRef database, from the American Geological Institute, provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef is the most comprehensive database in the geosciences - it contains over 3.2 million abstracts for geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.
Dissertations and Theses
This database provides citations for over 2.7 million dissertations and theses from colleges and universities around the world. Close to half are available in PDF form that researchers can download. All St. Thomas dissertations that have been submitted to the database are available in PDF also. If you should come across a document that does not have a PDF, you may purchase a copy or request it through interlibrary loan (ILLiad).
Academic Search Premier
A good place to start your research, Academic Search Premier provides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources.
ProQuest US Newsstream, including Star Tribune
US Newsstream enables users to search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, along with national and regional news sources including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Star Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, and Chicago Tribune.
Science Reference Center
Science Reference Center provides easy access to full-text science content including encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, web sites, pictures, illustrations, audio clips and video clips. Includes ability to limit by lexile reading levels.
Search Journal Titles
Find journals and newspapers subscribed to by St. Thomas. Enter all or the beginning of the title (e.g., New York Times or Harvard).