It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use for quick look ups. Oxford Reference Online contains dictionaries, encyclopedias, and Oxford Companions on a wide variety of topics. Brief entries and information about art, biology, business, classics, computing, environmental science, economics, history, language, law, literature, medicine, physical science, political science, quotations, religion and philosophy, and science.
Wiley Online Library (formerly Blackwell Reference Online) is a vast online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences.
This selection of writings from the most important moments in the history of Christianity has become established as a classic reference work, providing insights into 2000 years of Christian theological and political debate. While retaining the original material selected by Henry Bettenson, Chris Maunder has added a substantial section of more recent writings. These illustrate the Second Vatican Council; the theologies of liberation; Church and State from 'Thatcher's Britain' to Communist Eastern Europe; Black, feminist, and ecological theology; ecumenism; and inter-faith dialogue. The emphasis on moral debate in the contemporary churches is reflected in selections discussing questions about homosexuality, divorce, AIDS, and in-vitro fertilization, amongst other issues. This further expanded fourth edition brings the anthology up-to-date with a new section looking at issues facing the twenty-first century churches. This includes extracts exploring the churches' responses to questions of social justice, international politics, trade and debt, environmental change, and technological development. New material also covers the global growth of Christianity, the progress of Christian unity, and mission in multi-faith and postmodern societies.
The four volumes contain numerous articles regarding the religious and societal life of the Reformation such as individuals, documents, and events. Articles included are Carlo Borromeo, Stanislaus Hosius, Paul III, Pius IV, Reginald Pole, Girolamo Seripando, and the Council of Trent. All of the articles are accompanied by a bibliography.
A searchable database of primarily sixteenth and seventeenth century Latin texts it is a collection of original language writings from the 14th to the 19th century by Catholic authors on a wide variety of topics relating to the Reformation of the Catholic Church in the early modern era, the Counter-Reformation and the Council of Trent specifically.
These Dictionaries and Encyclopedias can be quite useful for beginning research about Church History or Catholicism, or for clarifying terms and gaining background knowledge. Many entries include bibliographies.