Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Religious Statistics: Data Archives

Religion statistics for research.

About Data Archives

Data archives contain raw data files that are used for secondary analysis in research. 
Data set files are usually downloaded and manipulated using statistical software such as SPSS or SAS.  Sometimes data archives will provide tools for online analysis as well.

Below is a selected list of data archives. 

ARDA

The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) is a project funded by the Lilly Endowment, Inc. and acts to preserve quantitative data on American religion, to improve access to this data, to increase the use of the data, and to allow comparisons across data files.

The ARDA collection includes data on:

-Churches and Church Membership
-Religious Professionals
-Religious Groups
      -Individuals
      -Congregations
      -Denominations

NAJDB

The North American Jewish Data Bank is the central repository of social scientific studies of North American Jewry.

The Data Bank archives and makes available electronically questionnaires, reports and data files from the National Jewish Population Surveys (NJPS) of 1971, 1990 and 2000-01. In addition to the NJPS studies, the Data Bank provides access to other national Jewish population reports, including the American Jewish Identity Survey (AJIS) and the Survey of Heritage and Religious Identification (HARI), 2002. Approximately 100 local Jewish community studies from the major Jewish communities in North America are also included in the Data Bank holdings.

ICPSR

Arts and Religion Survey