Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Judaic Studies: Jewish Languages

A general introduction to library resources that support Judaic Studies.

Online Dictionaries / Language Tools

Hebrew

 MorFix : Modern Hebrew-English dictionary and morphological-syntactic Hebrew search engine.

Gesenius' Hebrew grammar:  Digitized versions on Internent Archive (download in different formats: PDF, Kindle, full-text); digitized in wikisource project Jewish Languages Research Website  Modern Hebrew  The Semantics of Ancient Hebrew Database

Aramaic

 Aramaic Lexicon Michael Sokoloff's A Dictionary of Jewish Palestinian Aramaic  

Yiddish

 Yiddish Sources: Complied and mainted by Dr.Gerben Zaagsma, Department of Hebrew and Jewish Studies, University College London.

Yiddish-English-Hebrew Dictionary / Harkavy, Alexander: Digitized version

 Yiddish Dictionary Online by Shalom Berger

Tools and Links

 Hebrew Transliteration Tool : Transcribe a word or a text written in one script (e.g. Hebrew) into another script (e.g. English).

 Lexicool: directory of bilingual and multilingual online dictionaries : The directory currently has links to over 6000 dictionaries and glossaries

Jewish Languages

Jewish Languages Research Website

Survey on American Jewish Language and Identity    

Subject Guide

Betsy Polakowski's picture
Betsy Polakowski
Contact:

Theological Librarian / Collection Management Services

Subject Liaison to Theology, St. Paul Seminary School of Divinity

Archbishop Ireland Memorial Library
651-962-5452