Skip to main content

Bible LITE - Introductory Sources: Finding Articles

Only the most useful databases, reference tools and books for introductory level Biblical research.

Search Strategy using Keywords

1)    Determine the Key concepts of your topic

2)    Define your key words / search terms.

3)    Choose your databases and resources

4)    Formulate the search statement

5)    Refine and focus your results

6)    Evaluate and manage the results

7)    Locate the full articles

Old and New Testament Abstracts

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS

ATLA Scripture Search - Tutorial Handout

How to do a Scripture Citation Search in ATLA Religion Database

Created by Robert W. Woodruff Library Atlanta University Center.

Citations from International titles and 13,000 multi-author works in and related to the field of Religion. Also includes a full range of index citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews. 1949 - present.

ATLA Religion Index is directly linked with the ATLAS database of Full Text periodicals.  Be sure to use the PDF links rather than the GIF links.  Printing is easiest from the PDF.

Please note that BOOKS are included in this database. Check the Connelly Library Catalog under the book title to see if we have a book.  If we do not, use EZ Borrow to obtain it.

Scripture Citation searching tips:

You can search ATLA for articles concerning specific Scripture Citations. Click on the Scriptures link on the ATLA toolbar.  All the books of the Bible will displaty.  Click on Expand to view and choose the Chapter and verse of the Book of the Bible you want

You can stop anywhere through the index - for instance by clicking Genesis or Exodus in the above example, you would search all articles on those particular books of the Bible.  Or if you keep expanding you can stop at the Chapter or the Verse section.

 

Click on the desired Verse to run the search and see your results

 

JSTOR

GET IT

Click the GET IT button in any database to get the full text of an article.  If UST Libraries doesn't own it, you'll be given an option to request it from another library

More information

Subject Guide

Betsy Polakowski's picture
Betsy Polakowski
Contact:

Theological Librarian / Collection Management Services

Subject Liaison to Theology, St. Paul Seminary School of Divinity

Archbishop Ireland Memorial Library
651-962-5452