Skip to main content

RefWorks Instructions: Create Bibliographies

RefWorks is an online research management, writing and collaboration tool -- it's designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.

Creating a Bibliography

Creating a Bibliography from your RefWorks Account

Once you've added all the references from your research to your personal RefWorks database, you can automatically generate a bibliography in any of hundreds of available output styles

To generate a bibliography, follow these steps:

  1. Click the Bibliography menu.
  2. Under Output Style, select the style you prefer.
  3. Select Format a Bibliography from a List of References.
  4. Under File Type to Create, choose a format for the file you will be generating.
  5. Under Include, select All References, My List, or References from Folder name.
  6. Click Create Bibliography.
  7. Follow your browser's instruction for viewing the file, and be sure to save it to your hard disk before closing it.

If your preferred output style does not appear on the list, you can...

  • modify an existing output style, or
  • contact a librarian to request that RefWorks create the style you need.

Creating a Bibliography

Creating a Bibliography from your RefWorks Account

Once you've added all the references from your research to your personal RefWorks database, you can automatically generate a bibliography in any of hundreds of available output styles

To generate a bibliography, follow these steps:

  1. Click the Create Bibliography button.
  2. Under Output Style, select the style you prefer.
  3. Select Format a .Bibliography from a List of References
  4. Under File Type, choose a format for the file you will be generating.
  5. Under References to Include, select All References, My List, or References from Folder name.
  6. Click Create Bibliography.
  7. Follow your browser's instruction for viewing the file, and be sure to save it to your hard disk before closing it.

If your preferred output style does not appear on the list, you can...

  • modify an existing output style, or
  • contact a librarian to request that RefWorks create the style you need.