Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Helpful Art Titles
Most art books are rich with high quality images. Look for artists or genres from any era.
Here is a sampling of relevant titles.
Local Image Collections
St. Thomas Art History Visual Resources Library Collection
A digital-only collection, consisting of a constantly growing archive of projection quality digital images of varied mediums and geographic areas from prehistoric time to the 21st century.
Minneapolis Institute of Arts
Access to images in the MIA's collections.
The Minneapolis Collection
Approximately 10,000 images of people, buildings and events (principally Minnesota) from the 1850s to 1960.
Minnesota Historical Society Visual Resources Database
Phtographs, art, posters from the length and breadth of Minnesota's history
UMedia Archiv--the U. of MN Archive of Visual Resources
Thousands of images, including those from the Bell Museum, University Archives, posters from World War I and II, and many other topics.
Freely accessible collection of over 45,000 photographs, maps, journals, works of art from some 100 Minnesota historical societies.
Art of Botanical Illustration (1491-1920)
Traces the development of botanical art through the centuries, highlighting images from the U of MN. Libraries.
Holy Card Collection--Ireland Library
A digitized collection of holy cards found in St. Thomas Library books.
Digital Collections of the University of St. Thomas libraries
Includes digitzed images from the Conrad Pickel Stained Glass Collection, the University Archives Photograph Collection, and others.
CLIC Digital Collections
The digitized collections of the 8 CLIC libraries. Most are historic photographs of each college.
Films on Demand
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary database of streaming videos (electronic videos) from Films Media Group. It provides academic videos in the subject areas of psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more. Now it covers foreign films under the World Cinema Collection.