Research and Course Guides: Images: Getting Started

The Image of the Week

Virgin Mary and child, Persian miniature

Introduction

Welcome to the Image Research Guide. Increasingly research involves locating images for analysis, illustration and inspiration. This guide presents numerous sources available on line and through the Web.

There are a variety of areas covered in this guide: seaching for images, using them, and storing your images. There is also a tab devoted to Copyright. If you have any questions concerning the discovery or use of images, feel free to contact me.

Library Subscribed Image-Rich Databases

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
A searchable database of more than 1 million images, covering many time periods, cultures and disciplines. Users can search, view and download images.

Bridgeman Art Library Archive
Masterpieces of national museums as well as hidden treasures of private collectors.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
ASP:Image Collection. Thousands of current and historic images. Click on the word "More" on menu bar, and select "images".
Expanded content and coverage replacing Academic Search Premier.

Marcel Breuer Digital Archvies
The Marcel Breuer Digital Archive represents a collaborative effort headed by Syracuse University Library to digitize over 30,000 drawings, photographs, letters and other materials related to the career of Marcel Breuer, one of the most influential architects and furniture designers of the twentieth century.

Images Open to All

Google Images
Includes millions of images
Wikimedia Commons
A database of several million freely usable media files.
Paul R. Jones Collection of African American Art
U.S.Government Photos and Images
Includes thousands of images from agriculture, to history, to the environment.

Subject Guide

Kathryn Burke

Email Me

Contact:

O’Shaughnessy-Frey Library | LIB 117

651 962-5027

Subjects: Aerospace Studies, Art History, Catholic Studies, Environmental, Geography, Geology, Mathematics, Philosophy, Physics, Sustainability, Theology & Religion

St. Thomas Visual Resources Library

The Visual Resources Library supports the teaching of art history courses at the University of St. Thomas. The collection is developed in response to departmental curricular needs and is utilized by art history faculty, staff, and students; however, other faculty and students are welcome to make use of the collection.

The Visual Resources Library collection is a digital-only collection. The holdings consist of a constantly growing archive of projection quality digital images of varied mediums and geographic areas from prehistoric time to the 21st century. A historic collection of over 65,000 art and architecture slides is being converted to digital format (as copyright allows) and added to the image database. The collection also houses more than 200 art related videos. The films are used primarily to support teaching of art history courses and generally do not circulate beyond the department.

The use of images in the Visual Resources collection is subject to the 1976 Copyright Act and the Digital Millennium Copyright Act. Images are to be used for educational, non-profit use only. The patron assumes liability for any infringement of copyright laws.

The library is staffed by one full-time curator and student assistants. Because of this limited staffing, there are times when the library may be closed during posted hours. It is recommended that patrons outside the art history department call ahead to confirm availability.

Contact:
Christy Dent, Visual Resources Curator
Phone: 651.962.5562
Fax: 651.962.5861
Email: cldent@stthomas.edu