Skip to main content

Homiletics: Subscription Homily Preparation Sites

Homiletic Preparation Guides, Methods, and Resources.

Ireland Library Receives Print Issues of these Sources

Ireland Library receives paper subscriptions to these sources - not the online suscriptions available to individuals and parishes.

Celebration: An Ecumenical Worship Resource.  Published by National Catholic Reporter Publishing Company, Inc.  Celebration Publications, 115 E. Armour Blvd., Kansas City, MO 64111-1203.  Phone : (800) 333-7373.   

Web: http://celebrationpublications.org/  Subscription rate: $69.95 (Print with electronic access) $49.95 (Electronic only).  Published monthly.  To enable pastor leaders to plan ahead, each month is usually issued at least 2 months ahead of the month covered. 

One of the oldest homily services, Celebration includes features on liturgical and theological topics, planning resources, commentaries on the lectionary readings, youth preaching, music suggestions, sermon starters and sample homilies.  Contributors to Celebration include many of the big names in liturgy. 

Emphasis: a preaching journal for The Parish Pastor.  Published by CSS Publishing Company, 517 South Main Street, P.O. Box 4503, Lima, OH 45802-4503.  $49.95.  There are several subscription plans available including their sermon suite.  Phone: (800) 241-4056.  Online.  Web version has searchable archive of past sermons and illustrations. Web: http://www.sermonsuite.com/emphasis-online.html

This Lutheran service, based on the Revised Common lectionary with Lutheran options includes columns on liturgical topics, lectionary sermon illustrations, sample homilies, children’s object lessons, worship ideas such as calls to worship and intercessory prayers.  SermonSuite features eight different resources to support preaching and worship. Subscriptions can be placed for any of these individually or in combinations http://www.sermonsuite.com/index.php  

Homily Preparation -- Personal Subscription Sites

These are selected examples of homily /sermon services individual priests, deacons, or parishes may subscribe to for a fee.  The library does not endorse any specific service, and does not subscribe to any of these services at this time.

Sunday Services

Preparing for Sunday is an easy and affordable way to post weekly NRSV lectionary readings on your own church Website. For just $1 per week, your entire congregation can access Sunday readings at their convenience, enabling them to participate more fully in weekly worship. Easy one-time setup, then your Website is updated every week; Includes overview, scripture backgrounds, a reflection and a prayer starter; Last week's, this week's and next week's readings always available; No advertising! Only $52 a year gives everyone in your church easy access to Sunday readings on your Website. Web: https://www.preparingforsunday.com/

Connect. (formerly Good News)  Published by Liturgical Publications Inc. P.O. Box 510817, New Berlin, Wi 53151-0817.  Phone: (800) 876-4574.  Subscription rate: Print: $69.95 Online: $39.95.  Published monthly.  Web: http://www.lpiresourcecenter.com/lpirc/PreachingAids.do

Following the Catholic Lectionary, CONNECT! is a contemporary homily service which contains liturgical and scriptural backgrounds, homily reflections, quotes, historical references, prayers of the faithful, and bulletin inserts for Sundays, Holydays and major feasts. A bimonthly newsletter section includes thematic articles, conference listings, book reviews, and a chart of the daily readings. Subscribers to CONNECT! also receive Wednesday Morning Connection, a weekly e-mail that unites the scripture readings for the upcoming Sunday with the news of the week.

Connections: the newsletter of ideas, resources and information for homilists and preachers.  Editor: James Cormier.  Published by MediaWorks, 7 Lantern Lane, Londonderry, NH 03053.  Phone (603) 432-6056.  $44.00 a year.  Web: http://connectionsmediaworks.com/

This publication includes stories, quotes, anecdotes and reflections that relate to the themes of each Sunday's readings (in both the Roman and common lectionaries). It is a newsletter with little exegesis.  Might be a good supplementary service.

  Gold Label Sunday Worship Helps.  Published by Gold Label Preaching.  P.O. Box 821084, Dallas, TX 75382.  Phone: (214) 341-4210. Subscription rate: $60.00.  Published monthly. Web: http://www.goldlabelpublications.com/  

A combination of Sunday homilies and Liturgy Aids.  A theme is suggested for each Sunday based upon the readings.  The publication consists of a model homily, very brief starter ideas about the readings, suggested introductory thoughts, penitential rites, general intercessions and closing thoughts.  No credit is given to the authors of these suggestions.

 Homiletics.  Published quarterly by Communications Resources, Ind., P.O. Box 36269, Canton, OH  44799-6004.  Phone: 1-80-992-2144.  Subscription rate: $79.95. Which includes online access with backfile of 10 years and PowerPoint Presentations.  Web: http://www.homileticsonline.com

Each Sunday's material includes a theme, exegesis usually of the Gospel reading only, suggestions for bring the text to life, lots of illustrative material, a possible children's sermon, suggested calls to worship, prayers, benedictions, and hymns.  There are also some cartoons scattered throughout.  This journal is not located in the Homily Box, it can be found on the current periodical shelves in the library.

  Homily Helps and Lectern Guide.  Published monthly by St. Anthony Messenger Press, 1615 Republic Street, Cincinnati, OH 45210.  Subscription rate: $35.00 

Web: http://catalog.americancatholic.org/subscriptions.aspx?prodid=HHS&pcat=214 . For each Sunday this service includes exegesis of all three readings, a homily outline with suggested attention-getters, applications, and transitions to the liturgy of the Eucharist.  The Lectern Guide is a supplement and includes introductions to the penitential rite and each reading, and general intercessions.  One of the Athenaeum's Old Testament professors, Rev. Timothy Schehr provides the Old Testament exegesis.

  Preaching: the professional journal for preachers.  Published bi-monthly by American Ministry Resources LLC, 133 Holiday Court, Suite 111, Franklin, TN  37067.  Phone: (615) 599-9889.  Subscription rate: 39.95. A free online subscription is included with the print subscription.  Web: http://www.preaching.com/preaching/about.html . This periodical has features on preaching in general, four or five model sermons (not necessarily on the lectionary readings for the season), some cartoons, sermon illustrations, sermon briefs based upon the lectionary, the preacher's bookshelf containing book reviews of books of interest to preachers, children’s sermons and the editor's page. 

 Pulpit Resource.  Editor: William H. Willimon.  Published quarterly by Logos Productions, Inc., 6160 Carmen Ave., Inver Grove Heights, MN 55076-4422.  Phone (800) 328-0200 or (651) 451-9945.  Subscription rate: $57.77. Web: http://www.logosproductions.com  

Based upon the New Revised Common Lectionary, this service provides biblical interpretation, suggested sermon approaches and many illustrative materials.  Each issue also includes a feature called "The five-minute Preaching workshop".  Online access to Pulpit Resource archives and Children’s Sermon Index come with the subscription.

 Sacerdos.  A resource for Catholic Priests sponsored by the Legionaries of Christ and Regnum Christi Movement,.  Homiletical resources are free online.  Legionaries of Christ., P.O. Box 162, Cheshire, CT 06410.  Phone (203) 271-0805.  Web: http://www.sacerdos.org/english/index.phtml

 Scripture in Church.  Published four times a year by Dominican Publications, 42 Parnell Square, Dublin Managing Editor: Bernard Treacy.  Subscription rate: $112.12. Web:  http://www.dominicanpublications.com  Go to Journals on the side menu bar and click on Scripture in Church.The editorial board, advisory board and contributors are all well known Catholic biblical and liturgical scholars.  Each issue includes a celebrant's guide for Sundays and festivals and a celebrant's guide for weekdays and saints' days.  For each Sunday there are also commentaries and homily notes.  Each issue also includes a biblical essay and a column entitled "Proclaiming the Word: a guide for readers". 

 Sunday Sermons.  Published bi-monthly by Voicings Publications, P.O. Box 3102, Margate, NJ 08402.  Subscription rate: Print: $103.00. To add e-mail delivery, add $20.00 per year.  Phone (800) 827-9401.  Delivered bi-monthly via e-mail: $69.00.  Web: http://www.voicings.com

It offers a model sermon for each Sunday.  The type is Large Print which may make it easier to read for the seeing impaired. 

 This Sunday’s scripture.  Published Weekly by Twenty-Third Publicaitons/Bayard, P.O. Box 180. Mystic, CT  06355.  Subscription rate: $74.00 (print) $59.00 (e-mail).  Phone (800) 321-0411. Web: http://store.pastoralplanning.com/thsuscachose1.html .This weekly homily service available by mail or e-mail includes sections on: Entering the Word, Examining the Word, Enriching Your Reflection, Engaging Your Community, and Enhancing the Liturgy.  Authors include: Paul Holmes, Alice Camille, Michael Kent and Bill Bausch.

Today’s Liturgy.  Published quarterly by Oregon Catholic Press, 5536 NE Hassalo, Portland, OR 97213.  Subscription rate: $18.00.  Phone (800) 548-8794. Web: http://www.ocp.org/tl . This quarterly magazine is a resource for pastoral musicians and those who prepare the Sunday liturgy. It contains liturgy worksheets and music suggestions for each Sunday and holy day, plus articles, samples of new music and practical hints from acknowledged experts like Elaine Rendler, Paul Covino, Tom Tomaszek, Alice Parker and Don Saliers.  A Spanish version, Liturgia y Canción is also available on the current periodical shelves in the library.

 Weekday Services

 Gold Label Daily Homilies.  Published quarterly by Gold Label Publications (see above).  Subscription rate: $50.00.  Web: http://www.goldlabelpublications.com/ . See Gold Label Sunday Worship Helps above for the type of features it includes.  We do not subscribe to the daily homily service.

 Weekday Homily Helps  Published bi-monthly by St. Anthony Messenger Press  (See above).  Comes with Homily Helps.  Subscription rate: $60.00. Web:  http://catalog.americancatholic.org/subscriptions.aspx?prodid=HHW&pcat=215 . The resources for each day includes: an exegesis of each reading and a homily suggestion.  Sr. Betty Jane Lillie, S.C. provides exegesis for some issues.

 

 

Subject Guide

Betsy Polakowski's picture
Betsy Polakowski
Contact:

Theological Librarian / Collection Management Services

Subject Liaison to Theology, St. Paul Seminary School of Divinity

Archbishop Ireland Memorial Library
651-962-5452

Kir Shalom Resources