Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
LibrarySearch - Audio search
Oxford Music Online
Includes 4 music reference resources: "Grove Music"--full texts of New Grove Music, New Grove Opera, and New Grove Jazz; "Oxford Companion to Music" and "Oxford Dictionary of Music"--concise articles on musicians, individual works, instruments, notation, forms, & genres; and "Encyclopedia of Popular Music"--covers all genres and periods of popular music from 1900 to the present including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Covering all styles and genres of popular and classical music, Music Index indexes nearly 800 music periodicals from around the world from 1972 to the present; some titles are indexed starting in 1970. Includes citations to book reviews, obituaries, dissertations, and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry. Includes links to full text articles in JSTOR and EBSCO Host. For access to citations from 1949-1972, consult the print version (OSF REF ML 118 .M973).
JSTOR provides access to ebooks and scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and the social sciences. Works best in Chrome (Firefox creates problems with pop-up blockers).
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale (RILM) publishes a comprehensive bibliography of writings on music serving the global music research community. Today RILM abstracts of music literature has over 950,000 records in 143 languages from 178 countries. It covers Western classical music, ethnomusicology, popular music, and jazz, and music-related content from associated disciplines such as, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art history, dance, drama, literature, pedagogy, and more).
America: History & Life (EBSCO)
America History and Life is comprehensive index of journals articles, book reviews, and dissertations related to the history and culture of the United States and Canada from 1450 - present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
Comprehensive collection of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press. All articles are full-text. Updated quarterly. 1990- .
Project MUSE provides online access to a large selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals and ebooks.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Access to full-text available through UST subscription resources. Click "Get it@UST Libraries." to get free full-text.
Academic Search Premier
A good place to start your research, Academic Search Premier provides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources.