Research and Course Guides: Graduate English Library Guide: Historical & Primary Resources

American

American Periodicals Series
With this database you have access to 1,500 magazines, newspapers and popular journal titles published in the United States dating 1741 through the 1930s.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
In this database, you will find full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life.
Early American Imprints, 1639-1800
The Early American Imprints collection is a searchable full-image primary source collection that features books, pamphlets, and ephemera documenting life in 17th- and 18th-century America. It includes materials relating to agriculture, foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, slavery, temperance, and witchcraft.
America: History & Life (EBSCO)
Comprehensive index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations related to the history and culture of the United States and Canada from 1450 - present.
Women's Magazine Archive
With this database you have access to several popular women’s magazines published in the United States and Canada dating from the from the late 1800s through the 20th century.

British (and European)

British Periodicals Collection
With this database you have access to magazines, popular journals and other periodicals published in Great Britain dating from the from the late 1600s to World War II.
C19: Nineteenth Century Index
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index is an index to primary source books, newspapers , government documents, periodicals, and archival collections relating to the 19th century.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
A digital collection of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century (1701 - 1800), along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
Early English Books Online
Early English Books Online includes books, pamphlets, tracts and ephemera printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America as well as works published in English printed elsewhere between 1473 – 1700.
Bibliography of British and Irish History
The Bibliography of British and Irish History (BBIH) is an extensive guide to the published writings (books, book chapters and journal articles) on British and Irish history. It covers the history of British and Irish relations with the rest of the world, including the British empire and the Commonwealth, as well as British and Irish domestic history.
Sunday Times (London) Historical Archive
Complete searchable content of The Sunday Times from 1822 to 2021 including all articles, editorials, advertisements, and photographs.
The Times (London) Digital Archive
Complete searchable content of The Times, the world’s oldest continuously published newspaper, from 1785 to 2014 including all articles, editorials, advertisements, and photographs.
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection
This database access to largest collection English news media from the 17th and 18th centuries. It includes more than 1,200 titles, including pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers.

Broad-Spectrum

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
Index to journal articles and bibliographic citations to books and dissertations on the history of the world (except for) the U.S. and Canada from 1450 to the present.
JSTOR
Access ebooks and scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and the social sciences. Journal content is often not available until 1+ years after publication.
Readers' Guide Retrospective
Use the Readers' Guide Retrospective index to locate articles published in popular press magazines and journals dating from 1890 to 1982.

Historical Newspapers (Online)

Proquest Historical Newspapers
Combined search of historical newspapers including: New York Times, Washington Post, Irish Times, The Guardian and Observer, Chicago Defender and Pittsburgh Courier.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
In this database, you will find full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life.
British Library Newspapers
In this database you will find full-text content and images of 70 national, regional and local 19th century British newspapers including both liberal and conservative perspectives on the social and political developments of the times in which they were published.

History: Library Guide

+ Find History Resources
by Ann Kenne Last Updated Jun 25, 2025 63 views this year

Primary Resources

+ Find Primary Sources for Historical Research
by Ann Kenne Last Updated Jun 24, 2025 51 views this year

Graduate English Library Guide: Historical & Primary Resources

Historical Resources

American

British (and European)

Broad-Spectrum

Historical Newspapers (Online)

History: Library Guide

Primary Resources