Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General eReference Sources
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online This link opens in a new window
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology is the reference for students, researchers, librarians, and academics in the field. Articles are written by an international array of experts in the area. It includes over 1800 entries including key concepts, introductions to sociological theories and research, and extensive bibliographies for each article. It is regularly updated.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Articles, journals, and books published by Wiley across a variety of disciplines.
Credo This link opens in a new window
Provides access to hundreds of online reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations from a variety of publishers. Covers both general reference and subject-specific reference titles for a variety of disciplines. Topic Pages give great background overviews on subjects.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Full-text encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference contains full text dictionaries and encyclopedias from the Oxford University Press. It is easy to search and contains entries on a wide array of topics from business, computing and environmental science to art, biology, literature, religion, and political science.
Reference resources--specific ethnic groups
These resources are available electronically through the CLICnet catalog.
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
This resource covers ethnic groups in the United States. Each article provides information for each group on their immigration and settlement patterns, language, family dynamics, politics, etc.
Encyclopedia of American Immigration by
Publication Date: 2010
This resource includes the history of immigration, as well as topics such as demographics, information on cultural groups, and legal documents. In addition to the detailed subject general index, there is a geographical index and a legal and judicial index.
Immigrants in American History by
Publication Date: 2012-11-01
This resource includes information on immigrant groups that came to the United States. It includes reasons for immigrating, political information, and information on their integration into American life. It is separated into two parts: Part 1 covers pre-1870; Part 2 covers 1870-1940.
The new Americans [electronic resource] : a guide to immigration since 1965 by
Publication Date: 2007
This resource includes information on why groups immigrated to the United States and identifies the locations where these ethnic groups concentrated when they arrived. It also notes cultural associations, educational backgrounds and achievements, and has an appendix covering immigration legislation. It is also available in print (see print Reference sources column on the right).
Search for Books and eBooks
LibrarySearch provides a simple, one-stop search for books, articles, videos, recordings, and more. Items from St. Thomas and other regional libraries can be requested online and delivered to the St. Thomas library of your choice. My account