Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search for Books and eBooks
CLICsearch is the library catalog of six private colleges and universities in the Twin Cities, including Saint Thomas. Books from other campuses can be requested online and delivered to the UST library of your choice. My account
Electronic Reference Sources
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology is the reference for students, researchers, librarians, and academics in the field. Articles are written by an international array of experts in the area. It includes over 1800 entries including key concepts, introductions to sociological theories and research, and extensive bibliographies for each article. It is regularly updated.
Oxford Reference Resources online
Other Electronic Reference Sources
These resources are available through CLICsearch
Criminal Justice Reference Resources
Encyclopedia of crime & justice by
Call Number: OSF Reference HV6017 .E52 2002
This four-volume, interdisciplinary encyclopedia covers all fields relating to criminal behavior, crime prevention, punishment and treatment of offenders, institutions, and law.
These resources provide basic and background information for criminal justice research.
Encyclopedia of crime and punishment by
Call Number: OSF Reference HV6017 .E524 2002
Also four volumes, this publication attempts to bring together information from a variety of sources on crime and punishement in America and its affects on the populace.
Encyclopedia of criminology by
Call Number: OSF Reference HV6017 .E5295 2005
This three-volume resource covers a wide range of topics pertaining to crime. Each article includes a list of reference for further reading. Volume 3 includes a detailed subject index.
Encyclopedia of criminology and deviant behavior by
Call Number: OSF Reference HV6017 .E53 2001
Volume 1 includes historical, conceptual and theoretical issues, volume 2 covers crime and juvenile delinquency, volume 3 reviews sexual deviance, and volume 4 covers self-destructive behavior and disvlaued identity. Use the excellent author and subject indexes found in volume 4 to find the specific information that you need. Each article also includes an extensive bibliography.
Other Criminal Justice Reference Sources