Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference Sources by Subject Area
This list includes a selection of research handbooks arranged by subject area. These generally provide an overview of research in the area of teaching or curriculum design for each subject. This first box will focus on reading and language arts.
Handbook of Reading Research
Call Number: Keffer LB1050 .H278 2011
Compilation of research articles related to reading. Divided into 5 sections: 1) literacy research around the world, 2) Methods of literacy research, 3) literacy processes, 4) literacy practices, 5) literacy policies. Volume IV, published in 2011, should be adjacent to it on the shelf.
Handbook of Research on Teaching the English Language Arts
Call Number: Keffer Ref LB1576 .H234 2010
Seven themes in this resource: 1) the language learner, 2) contexts for language learning, 3) history and theoretical perspectives, 4) many faces of texts, 5) teaching the English language arts, 6) assessment of English language arts teaching and learning, 7) methods of research on teaching the English language arts. Also available in e-book form.
Handbook of Early Literacy Research (3 vol)
Call Number: Keffer LB1139.5.L35 H37 2001
Sample chapters: emergent literacy, literacy and oral language, teaching phonics and phonological awareness, vocabulary development, cultural diversity in early literacy, transition to school, early intervention, among many others.
Theoretical Models and Processes of Reading
Call Number: Keffer Stacks LB 1050 T48 2013
A research handbook that provides recent research related to reading and literacy. Sections 2 and 3 may be the most helpful for teachers (processes of reading and literacy, and models of reading and writing processes).
Handbook of Research on Literacy and Diversity
Call Number: Keffer stacks LB1576 .H2337 2009
The chapters in this book are divided into four themes: 1) perspectives about learning among diverse students; special issues concerning literacy; 3) strategies for teaching; and 4) preparing teachers to teach literacy to diverse students.
The Science of Reading
Call Number: Keffer Stacks LB1050 .S365 2007
A review of research in these broad themes: word recognition processes in reading; learning to read and spell; reading comprehension; reading in different languages; disorders of reading and spelling; biological bases of reading; teaching reading.
Handbook of Adolescent Literacy Research
Call Number: Keffer LB1632 .H363 2009
This resource includes articles about adolescent literacy and teaching and learning in school, out-of-school literacies, and cultural and community contexts of learning. a detailed table of contents is available at the link above.
What Research Has to Say about Reading Instruction
Call Number: Keffer Stacks LB1631 .W376 2011
Maintaining a balance of theory, research, and effective classroom practice, this book discuss early reading instruction, phonemic awareness, comprehension, and many other topics related to reading instruction.
What Research Has to Say About Fluency Instruction
Call Number: Keffer Stacks LB1050 .W4347 2006
This book provides a range of perspectives on topics related to fluency including: instruction and development, measurement and assessment, and issues for struggling readers, ESL students, and students with learning disabilities.
What Research Has to Say About Vocabulary Instruction
Call Number: Keffer Stacks LB1631 .W376 2008
Backed by research, this volume provides classroom strategies for these vocabulary topics: teaching root words, word learning through word play, direct instruction of vocabulary, teaching vocabulary in subject areas, teaching vocabulary to ESL learners.
Teaching the Brain to Read
Call Number: E-Book. Username/password needed for access
E-Book. This book provides educators with an understanding of how the brain processes language, emotion, and other stimuli. It includes brain research compatible techniques and strategies that will help increase students' motivation to read.
The Essential Guide to Selecting and Using Core Reading Programs
Call Number: Keffer Curriculum LB1139.5.R43 E75 2010
This guide to core reading programs looks objectively at the skills, texts, and assessments used in the most commonly used programs, in order to help teachers evaluate and select an effective reading program.
Science and Mathematics
Handbook of Research on Science Education
Call Number: Keffer Ref Q181 .H149 2007
This handbook is arranged around 5 themes: 1) science learning, 2) culture, gender, and society and science learning, 3) science teaching, 4) curriculum and assessment in science, 5) science teacher education.
Common Core Standards for High School Mathematics
Call Number: E-book, username and password required
This close-up look at the structure and content of the Common Core high school mathematics standards is designed to kick off implementation at the classroom level. Offers practical guidance on lesson planning, including a process for making the best use of the effective instructional strategies explored in Classroom Instruction That Works, 2nd ed.
Encyclopedia of Mathematics Education
Call Number: Keffer Ref QA11 .E665 2001
Covering K-16, this encyclopedia has articles on topics including: assessment, curriculum, enrichment, instructional methods, psychology of learning, and teacher preparation, among others.
The Essentials of Mathematics K-6
Call Number: Keffer Curriculum QA135.6 .C525 2006
One comment for 4 books: each of these titles provide practical information on trends in math or science education, planning the curriculum, bringing the subject matter to life, and implications for professional development.
Handbook of Research in Social Studies Education
Call Number: Keffer LB1584 .H2748 2008
This book has several sections including: historical overview of social studies curriculum, civic competence in pluralistic societies, service learning, multicultural education, social justice, assessment and accountability in teaching social studies, and teaching/learning in the various social studies disciplines.
International Handbook of Research in Arts Education
Call Number: OSF NX280 .I56 2007
Two-volume set addressing these broad themes among others: history of arts education, curriculum for the arts, assessment and evaluation, artistic composition and appreciation, arts and children's culture, social and cultural issues, creativity, technology in the arts, and spirituality.
Contact me for assistance